

## High-Level Event on Financing for Development in the Era of COVID-19 and Beyond

## **Provisional Agenda**

May 28th, 2020 - 8AM - 1PM

Opening Segment 8:00-8:15

Moderator: Ms. Melissa Fleming, USG for Global Communications

Welcome remarks by H.E. Mr. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada

Welcome remarks by H.E. Mr. Andrew Holness, ON, MP, Prime Minister of Jamaica

Welcome remarks by H.E. Mr. António Guterres, Secretary-General

High-Level Segment 8:15-9:25

Moderator: Ms. Melissa Fleming, USG for Global Communications

Remarks by H.E Mr. Tijani Muhammad-Bande, President of the General Assembly

Remarks by Heads of State and Government

High-Level Panel 9:25-10:05

Moderator: Mr. Elliott Harris, ASG for Economic Development DESA and UN Chief Economist

Ms. Kristalina Georgieva, Managing Director of the IMF

Mr. Tidjane Thiam, Special Envoy of the African Union on COVID-19 Mr. Tim Adams, President of the Institute of International Finance

Mr. David Malpass, President of the World Bank Group Mr. Angel Gurria, Secretary-General of the OECD

Mr. Mark Carney, Special Envoy of the Secretary-General for Climate Action and Finance

**High-Level** 

Segment continued 10:05-12:45

Moderator: Mr. Stéphane Dujarric, Spokesperson of the Secretary-General of the UN

Remarks by Heads of State and Government and key Partners with Speakers List

Announcement

of Next Steps 12:45-12:50

Mr. Mahmoud Mohieldin, Special Envoy on Financing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

Closing Session 12:50-13:00

Moderator: Mr. Stéphane Dujarric, Spokesperson of the Secretary-General of the UN

Closing remarks by H.E. Mr. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada.

Closing remarks by H.E. Mr. Andrew Holness, ON, MP, Prime Minister of Jamaica.

Closing remarks by H.E. Mr. António Guterres, Secretary-General

Provisional order of speakers

High-Level Segment 8:15-9:25

		Expected time to start speaking (EDT)
1.	President of the General Assembly	8:16 a.m.
2.	South Africa (Chair of the African Union)	8:20 a.m.
3.	Germany	8.24 a.m.
4.	France	8:28 a.m.
5.	Kazakhstan (Chair of the Group of Landlocked Developing Countries	8:32 a.m.
6.	Costa Rica	8:36 a.m.
7.	Malawi (Chair of the Group of Least Developed Countries)	8:40 a.m
8.	European Commission	8:44 a.m
9.	Japan	8:48 a.m
10.	Kyrgyzstan	8:52 a.m
11	Italy	8:56 a.m.
12.	Norway	9:00 a.m.
13.	Ireland	9:04 a.m.
14.	Barbados (Chair of the Caribbean Community)	9:08 a.m.
15.	United Kingdom	9:12 a.m
16.	Pakistan	9:16 a.m.
9:20	Saudi Arabia (Chair of the G20 Finance Track)	9:20 a.m.

## High-Level Segment continued 10:05-12:45

1.	Côte d'Ivoire	10 :05 a.m.
2.	Switzerland	10:09 a.m.
3.	Ghana	10:13 a.m.
4.	Thailand	10:17 a.m
5.	Colombia	10:21 a.m
6.	Georgia	10:25 a.m.
7.	Nigeria	10:29 a.m.
8.	International Chamber of Commerce	10:33 a.m.
9.	Sri Lanka	10:37 a.m
10.	Special Envoy of the African Union on COVID-19	10:41 a.m.
11.	Belarus	10:45 a.m.
12.	Bank of America	10:49 a.m.
13.	Haiti	10:53 a.m.
14.	Bulgaria	10:57 a.m.
15.	Argentina	11.01 a.m.
16.	Mauritania	11:05 a.m.
17.	Kenya	11:09 a.m.
18.	Iraq	11:13 a.m.
19.	Fiji	11:17 a.m.
20.	Oxfam GB	11:21 a.m.
21.	Senegal	11;25 a.m.
22.	Honduras	11;29 a.m.
23.	Mozambique	11:33 a.m.
24.	International Trade Union Confederation	11:37 a.m.
25.	Spain	11:41 a.m.
26.	Algeria	11:45 a.m.
27.	Nicaragua	11:49 a.m.
28.	The Gambia	11:53 a.m.
29.	Togo	11:57 a.m.
30.	Bangladesh	12:01 p.m.
31.	Saint Lucia	12:05 p.m.
32.	International Development Finance Club	12:09 p.m.
33.	Holy See	12:13 p.m.
34.	Madagascar	12:17 p.m.
35.	Trinidad and Tobago	12:21 p.m.
36.	Former Chair of the G-20 Eminent Persons Group	12:25 p.m
	on Global Financial Governance	
37.	The Netherlands	12:29 p.m
38.	Eswatini	12:33 p.m.
39.	Luxembourg	12:37 p.m.
40.	Tajikistan	12:41 p.m.