New York

6 December 2011

Statement attributable to the Spokesperson for the Secretary-General on the ratification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty by the Government of Indonesia

The Secretary-General in his capacity as Depositary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty welcomes the ratification of the Treaty by the House of Representatives of Indonesia on 6 December 2011. Indonesia is one of the 44 States listed in Annex 2 of the Treaty, the ratification of which is necessary for the Treaty to enter into force.

Once the instrument of ratification is deposited, the total number of ratifying States will stand at 156, including 36 Annex 2 States. The Secretary-General encourages all States that have not yet done so to sign and ratify the Treaty and is counting upon the engaged leadership of the remaining eight States whose ratification is required for the Treaty's entry into force.