Committee Format

As stipulated in Article 47, the MSC consists of “the Chiefs of Staff of the permanent members of the Security Council or their representatives.” Each of the Permanent Five (P5) member states has designated its senior military adviser, assigned to its respective mission to the UN, as its designated representative to the MSC.

The MSC consists of the Chiefs of Staff from the Security Council's five permanent members: China, France, Russia, the UK and the U.S. Responsibility is delegated to the Heads of Delegations (P-5 Military Advisers). Each delegation has a representative from each of the three Armed Services.


The Chairman acts as Presiding Officer of the MSC, and as liaison between the Committee and the Secretary-General.

The Chairmanship rotates monthly among the P5 Military Advisers in English alphabetical order of the names of their countries.

MONTH (2020)


MARCH Russian Federation
APRIL United Kingdom
MAY United States of America
JUNE China
JULY France
AUGUST Russian Federation
SEPTEMBER United Kingdom
OCTOBER United States of America


The MSC Secretariat consists of the Principal Secretary/Liaison Officer and an administrative assistant. The Principal Secretary acts as Liaison Officer between the Committee and the Office of the Secretary-General.

The Principal Secretary/Liaison Officer, currently retired Colonel Vadim Pivovar (Russian), rotates among the Members every five years as noted in MS/2130, dated 16 July 1981. The Administrative Assistant is appointed from the UN Secretariat.

The Secretariat is responsible for organizing all meetings of the MSC, managing MSC documentation and serving as a liaison among the Permanent Five Members, and lately, the elected ten Members of the Security Council.