武器禁运

一、安全理事会相关决议和委员会准则

  根据以下文件实行武器禁运豁免:

  • 安全理事会第2498 (2019)号决议第7至第19段
  • 安全理事会第2444(2018)号决议:第14至第16段
  • 安全理事会第2385(2017)号决议:第2至第4段
  • 安全理事会第2142(2014)号决议:第2至第9段
  • 安全理事会第2111(2013)号决议:第6至第11段
  • 委员会准则:第10节

二、有权提交武器禁运豁免请求或通知方

  仅限成员国(一般通过其常驻联合国代表团)和国际、区域或次区域组织提交武器禁运豁免请求或通知。

三、目前有效的武器禁运豁免类别

  共有四类武器禁运豁免:

  • 供委员会审议的武器禁运豁免;
  • 对帮助组建索马里联邦政府安全部队的武器禁运豁免;
  • 供委员会参考的武器禁运豁免;
  • 长期有效的豁免。

  1. 供委员会审议的武器禁运豁免:

  a) 根据第2498(2019)号决议第10段,仅用于索马里国家安全部队或联邦政府以外的索马里安全部门机构发展以便为索马里人民提供安全保障而运送第2498(2019)号决议附件A所列物项,需由联邦政府或提供援助的国家或国际、区域和次区域组织提前至少5个工作日通知委员会,由委员会逐一事先批准。此类请求必须包含以下信息:

  1. 即将交付的武器、弹药、军事装备和材料的类别和技术规格;
  2. 提供装备时将使用的交通方式;
  3. 拟议交货日期;
  4. 在索马里具体的交货地点。

  b) 根据第2498(2019)号决议第12段,仅为帮助联邦政府以外的索马里安全部门机构发展之目的而运送第2498(2019)号决议附件B所列武器和军事装备或提供与军事活动有关的技术咨询、财政和其他援助及培训,可在委员会收到相关国家或国际、区域和次区域组织通知后5个工作日内未作出否定决定的情况下运送或提供,请国家或国际、区域和次区域组织提前至少5个工作日将任何此类运送或提供同时通知联邦政府。此类通知必须包含以下信息:

  1. 装备和/或技术援助以及培训的类别和技术规格;
  2. 装备和/或技术援助以及培训的预期接收方和最终用户;
  3. 提供装备时将使用的交通方式;
  4. 进入索马里的港口。

  2. 对帮助组建索马里联邦政府安全部队的武器禁运豁免(提前通知委员会的信息)

  a) 根据第2498(2019)号决议第11段,仅用于索马里国家安全部队发展以便为索马里人民提供安全保障而运送第2498(2019)号附件B所列物项或提供与军事活动有关的技术咨询、财政和其他援助及培训,需由联邦政府或提供援助的国家或国际、区域或次区域组织提前至少5个工作日告知委员会相关信息供了解。

  请注意,就向索马里国家安全部队运送武器和军事装备或提供与军事活动有关的技术咨询、财政和其他援助及培训等事宜,索马里联邦政府承担首要责任至少提前5天寻求委员会的批准或酌情通知委员会,向索马里国家安全部队运送武器和军事装备或提供与军事活动有关的技术咨询、财政和其他援助及培训的国家或国际、区域或次区域组织也可与联邦政府协商,自己事先提出批准请求或酌情提交通知。

  还请注意,选择自己事先提出批准请求或提交通知的国家或国际、区域或次区域组织应告知联邦政府内的适当国家协调机构其已事先请求批准或提交通知,并酌情向联邦政府提供通知程序方面的技术支持,并请委员会将国家或国际、区域或次区域组织的事先批准请求和通知转交联邦政府的适当国家协调机构。 此类通知必须包含以下信息:

  1. 武器和军事装备的生产商和供应商的详细情况;
  2. 对即将交付的武器和弹药的说明,包括类别、口径和数量;
  3. 拟议交货日期;
  4. 具体的交货地点;
  5. 与索马里国家安全部队的预定收货单位或预定储存地点相关的所有信息;

  b) 根据第2498(2019)号决议第16段,在第2498(2019)号决议第10或11段的规定适用情况下,索马里联邦政府应不迟于武器或军事装备运送后30天向委员会提交确认已向索马里国家安全部队运送的运送后书面通知,其内容包括:

  1. 所交付武器和军事装备的编号;
  2. 货运信息、提单、货物清单或装箱单;
  3. 具体存放地点。

  请注意同时鼓励供货的会员国和国际、区域和次区域组织与索马里联邦政府合作提交此类信息。

  c) 依照第2498(2019)号决议第35段,索马里联邦政府应在按照该决议第35段的要求向安全理事会提交的索马里联邦政府定期报告中纳入关于进口武器和弹药分发后索马里国家安全部队接受单位或军事装备储存地点的通知。

  3. 供委员会参考的武器禁运豁免

  根据第2498(2019)号决议第17段,运送国或国际、区域或次区域组织应提前五天把运送仅用于人道主义或保护用途的非致命性军事装备情况告知委员会供了解。此类通知应当包含以下信息:

  1. 装备的类别和技术规格;
  2. 装备的预期接收方和最终用户;
  3. 其人道主义和保护用途;
  4. 提供装备时将使用的运输方式;
  5. 进入索马里的港口。

  请注意当请求或通知中不包含上述所有信息时,委员会主席可要求提交请求或通知的会员国和国际、区域、次区域组织进一步提供信息。

  4. 长期有效的豁免

  根据第2498(2019)号决议第19段,下述物料和接收方享受武器禁运豁免。因此,无需向委员会提交请求或通知供其审议或参考。

  a) 仅为了支助联合国人员或供其使用而供应武器或军事装备或提供与军事活动有关的技术咨询、财政和其他援助及培训,包括以下方面的人员:联合国索马里援助团(联索援助团)、非洲联盟驻索马里特派团(非索特派团);仅在非洲联盟最新的战略行动构想下并与非索特派团合作和协调运作的非索特派团战略伙伴;欧洲联盟索马里培训团(欧盟索马里培训团),第2111(2013)号决议第10(a)至(d)段对此都已作出规定;

  b) 仅供按联邦政府提出并已通报秘书长的要求采取措施打击索马里沿海海盗和武装抢劫行为的国家或国际、区域和次区域组织使用的武器和军事装备供应,前提是所采取的任何措施符合适用的国际人道主义法和国际人权法;

  c) 仅为联合国人员、媒体代表以及从事人道主义和发展工作的人员及相关人员个人使用而临时出口到索马里的防护服,包括防弹背心和军用头盔;

  d) 运载用于防卫目的的武器和军事装备的船只在索马里港口临时停靠,前提是这些物项必须始终留在船上。

四、一般武器禁运豁免请求提交办法

  请采取以下办法提交武器禁运豁免请求/通知:

  • 委员会主席马克·贝克斯廷·德布伊茨沃夫先生阁下(比利时),通过比利时常驻联合国代表团提交

  同时将副本提交给:

五、委员会的决策

  主席将书面通知成员国(一般是通过其常驻联合国代表团)和国际、区域、次区域组织其审议豁免请求的相关决定。

Arms Embargo

I. Relevant paragraphs of Security Council resolutions and Committee Guidelines

The exemptions from the arms embargo on Somalia are provided for by the following:

  • Security Council Resolution 2498 (2019): paragraphs 7 to 19
  • Security Council Resolution 2444 (2018): paragraphs 14 to16
  • Security Council Resolution 2385 (2017): paragraphs 2 to 4
  • Security Council Resolution 2142 (2014): paragraphs 2 to 9
  • Security Council Resolution 2111 (2013): paragraphs 6 to 11
  • Committee Guidelines: Section 10

II. Who is entitled to submit the arms embargo exemption requests or notifications?

Only Member States (usually through their Permanent Missions to the United Nations) and international, regional or subregional organizations can submit arms embargo exemption requests or notifications.

III. What type of arms embargo exemptions are currently in force?

There are four types of arms embargo exemptions:

  • for the Committee’s consideration;
  • for the development of Security Forces of the Federal Government of Somalia;
  • for the Committee’s information;
  • standing exemptions;

1. Arms embargo exemptions for the Committee’s consideration

a) Pursuant to paragraph 10 of resolution 2498 (2019), deliveries  of items  in Annex A to resolution 2498 (2019) intended solely for the development of the Somali National Security Forces, or Somali security sector institutions other than those of the FGS, to provide security for the Somali people, require an advance approval by the Committee on a case by -case basis, submitted at least five working days in advance by the FGS or the State or international, regional or subregional organisation delivering assistance. . Such requests must contain the following information:

  1. The type and technical specification of weapons, ammunitions, military equipment and material to be delivered;
  2. The means of transport to be used for the supply of the equipment;
  3. The proposed date of delivery;
  4. The specific place of delivery in Somalia.

b) Pursuant to paragraph 12 of resolution 2498 (2019), , deliveries of weapons and military equipment listed in Annex B to resolution 2498 (2019) or the delivery of technical advice, financial and other assistance, and training related to military activities, intended solely for the purposes of helping develop Somali security sector institutions other than those of the FGS, may be provided in the absence of a negative decision by the Committee within five working days of receiving a notification from the supplying State or international, regional and sub-regional organisation and requests States or international, regional and sub-regional organisations to inform the FGS in parallel of any such deliveries at least five working days in advance. Such notifications must contain the following information:

  1. The type and technical specification of the equipment and/or technical assistance and training;
  2. The intended recipient and end-user of the equipment and/or of the technical assistance and training;
  3. The means of transport to be used for the supply of the equipment;
  4. The port of entry into Somalia.

2. Arms embargo exemptions for the development of Security Forces of the Federal Government of Somalia (advance notifications for the Committee’s information)

a) Pursuant to paragraph 11 of resolution 2498 (2019), deliveries of items in Annex B to resolution 2498 (2019) and the delivery of technical advice, financial and other assistance, and training related to military activities intended so lely for the development of the Somali National Security Forces to provide security for the Somali people are subject to notifications to the Committee for information submitted at least five working days in advance by the FGS or the State or international, regional or subregional organisation delivering assistance. 

Please Note that the Federal Government of Somalia has the primary responsibility to seek approval from or notify the Committee  as applicable of any deliveries of weapons and military equipment or the delivery of technical advice, financial and other assistance, and training related to military activities to the Somali National Security Forces, at least five days in advance, and that the State or international, regional or subregional organisation delivering weapons and military equipment or technical advice, financial and other assistance, and training related to military activities to the Somali National Security Forces, may alternatively, make an advance request for approval or notification, as applicable, in consultation with the FGS. 

Please Also Note that a State or international, regional or subregional o rganisation choosing to make an advance request for approval or notification should inform the appropriate national coordinating body within the FGS of the advance request for approval or notification and provide the FGS with technical support with notification procedures where appropriate, and that the Committee is requested to transmit advance requests for approval and notifications from States or international, regional or subregional organisations to the appropriate national coordinating body in the FGS.

Notifications must contain the following information:

  1. Details of the manufacturer and supplier of the weapons and military equipment;
  2. A description of the arms and ammunition to be delivered, including the type, calibre and quantity;
  3. The proposed date of delivery;
  4. The specific place of delivery;
  5. All relevant information concerning the intended destination unit in the Somali National Security Forces, or the intended place of storage.

b) Pursuant to paragraph 16 of resolution 2498 (2019), where paragraphs 10 or 11 of resolution 2498 (2019) apply, that the Federal Government of Somalia shall no later than 30 days after the delivery of weapons and military equipment, submit to the Committee a post-delivery notification in the form of written confirmation of the completion of any delivery to the Somali National Security Forces,  including:

  1. The serial numbers for the weapons and military equipment delivered;
  2. Shipping information, bill of lading, cargo manifests or packing lists;
  3. The specific place of storage.

Please Note that the supplying Member State, international, regional or subregional organization is encouraged to submit this information as well, in cooperation with the Federal Government of Somalia.

c) Pursuant to paragraph 35 of resolution 2498 (2019), the Federal Government of Somalia shall incorporate the notifications regarding the destination unit in the Somali National Security Forces or the place of storage of military equipment upon distribution of imported arms and ammunition into the regular FGS reporting to the Security Council requested in paragraph 35 of the same.

3. Arms embargo exemptions for the Committee’s information

Pursuant to paragraph 17) of resolution 2498 (2019), the delivery of non-lethal military equipment intended solely for humanitarian or protective use shall be notified to the Committee five days in advance for its information only by the supplying State or international, regional or subregional oganisation. . Such notifications must contain the following information:

  1. The type and technical specification of the equipment;
  2. The intended recipient and end-user of the equipment;
  3. The humanitarian or protective use to which it will be put;
  4. The means of transport to be used for the supply of the equipment;
  5. The port of entry into Somalia;

Please Note that where a request or a notification does not contain all the information, the Chair of the Committee may seek further information from the Member State, international, regional or subregional organizations that submitted the request or the notification.

4. Standing Arms Embargo exemptions

Pursuant to paragraph 19 of resolution 2498 (2019), the following materials and recipients are exempt from the arms embargo. As such, no request or notification needs to be submitted to the Committee for its consideration or information.

a) Supplies of weapons or military equipment or the provision of technical advice, financial and other assistance, and training related to military activities intended solely for the support of or use by United Nations personnel, including the United Nations Assistance Mission in Somalia (UNSOM), the African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM); AMISOM’s strategic partners, operating solely under the latest African Union Strategic Concept of Operations, and in cooperation and coordination with AMISOM; and the European Union Training Mission (EUTM) in Somalia, all as per paragraph 10 (a)-(d) of resolution 2111 (2013);

b) Supplies of weapons and military equipment destined for the sole use of  States or international, regional and subregional organizations undertaking measures to suppress acts of piracy and armed robbery at sea off the coast of Somalia, upon the request of the Federal Government of Somalia for which it has notified the Secretary-General, and provided that any measures undertaken shall be consistent with applicable international humanitarian and human rights law;

c) Supplies of protective clothing, including flak jackets and military helmets, temporarily exported to Somalia by United Nations personnel, representatives of the media and humanitarian and development workers and associated personnel for their personal use only;

d) Entry into Somali ports for temporary visits of vessels carrying weapons and military equipment for defensive purposes provided that such items remain at all times aboard such vessels.

IV. How to make the request for exemptions from the general arms embargo?

Please address requests/notifications in connection with arms embargo exemptions to:

  • The Chair of the Committee, His Excellency Mr. Philippe Kridelka, through the Permanent Mission of Belgium to the United Nations

With copies to:

V. Decision-making of the Committee

The Chair will inform in writing the Member States (usually through their Permanent Missions to the United Nations), international, regional or subregional organizations of the decision of the Committee regarding its consideration of exemption requests.