Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau

The Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau (hereafter “the Committee”) oversees the sanctions measures imposed by the Security Council.

Sanctions measures




Travel ban

All States are required to take the necessary measures to prevent the entry into or transit through their territories of individuals designated by the Committee for inclusion on its consolidated travel ban on the basis of the criteria summarized in paragraphs 6-7 resolution 2048 (2012).

Set out in paragraph 5 of resolution 2048 (2012)

Work and mandate of the Committee

The Committee comprises all 15 members of the Security Council and makes its decision by consensus. The current Chair of the Committee, for the period ending 31 December 2022, is Her Excellency Mrs. Lana Zaki Nusseibeh (United Arab Emirates). The Vice-Chair for 2022 is Kenya. The Committee prepares annual reports of its activities. The Committee has Guidelines for the conduct of its work. Formal and informal meetings of the Committee are announced in the Journal of the United Nations.

The Committee is mandated to:

  • monitor implementation of the measures imposed;
  • designate those individuals who meet the listing criteria as contained in the relevant resolution 2048 (2012)
  • consider and decide upon requests for exemptions from the sanctions measures;
  • report to the Security Council as deemed necessary by the Committee;
  • encourage a dialogue between the Committee and interested Member States and international, regional and subregional organizations, in particular those in the region
  • seek from all States and international, regional and subregional organizations information on actions taken to effectively implement the sanctions measures
  • examine and take appropriate action on information regarding alleged violations or non-compliance with the sanctions measures.

Summary of listing criteria


Relevant Resolution

seeking to prevent the restoration of the constitutional order or taking action that undermines stability in Guinea-Bissau, in particular those who played a leading role in the coup d’état of 12 April 2012 and who aim, through their actions, at undermining the rule of law, curtailing the primacy of civilian power and furthering impunity and instability in the country

Paragraph 6 (a) of resolution 2048 (2012)

acting for or on behalf of or at the direction of or otherwise supporting or financing individuals identified in paragraph 6 (a)

Paragraph 6 (b) of resolution 2048 (2012)