工作任务和规定

  委员会由苏丹问题专家小组提供支持,该小组由五名原地办公的专家组成。依照安全理事会第2400(2018)号决议第2段,该小组目前的任务期限延长至2019年3月12日。

  苏丹问题专家小组依照第1591(2005)、1779(2007)、1841(2008)、1945(2010)、2035(2012)、2138(2014)、2200(2015)、2265(2016)、2340(2017)和2400(2018)号决议获得任务授权,除其他外负责:

  • 协助委员会监测安全理事会规定的措施(武器禁运、旅行禁令和资产冻结)的执行情况,并就安全理事会可能想要考虑采取的行动向委员会提出建议
  • 评估在减少各方违反武器禁运行为方面取得的进展以及在消除妨碍政治进程的障碍、对达尔富尔和本地区稳定的威胁,违反国际人道主义法或侵犯及践踏人权的行为,包括袭击平民、性暴力和性别暴力和侵犯及虐待儿童以及违反相关决议的其他行为方面取得的进展
  • 报告第1945(2010)号决议第10段的执行情况和效力(依照该段规定,安全理事会决定所有国家都应确保向苏丹出售或提供第1556(2004)号和第1591(2005)号决议未禁止的武器和相关物资应以出示必要的最终用户证明文件为条件)
  • 向委员会提供关于符合第1591(2005)号决议第3(c)段所述列名标准的个人及实体的资料
  • 调查武装、军事和政治团体在袭击达尔富尔的平民及达尔富尔混合行动人员事件中的资金来源和扮演的角色
  • 调查达尔富尔武装团体的所有筹资方式
  • 酌情与非洲联盟-联合国达尔富尔混合行动(达尔富尔混合行动)、推动达尔富尔政治进程的国际努力以及同其任务执行有关的其他专家小组或专家组协调行动
  • 向委员会提供第一次工作报告,并在与委员会讨论后向安理会提交载有建议与调查结果的最后报告
  • 按季度向委员会通报最新活动情况,包括小组的差旅情况、执行任务过程中遇到的任何障碍以及应立即通报的违反制裁制度的任何内容的行为

  苏丹问题专家小组是2005年3月29日依照安全理事会第1591(2005)号决议设立的。该小组最初由四名专家组成,总部设在埃塞俄比亚亚的斯亚贝巴。自2012年以来,该小组在原地办公。依照2006年9月29日第1713(2006)号决议,安理会为该小组增派了第五名专家,以使其能够更好地开展工作。安理会多次延长该小组的任务期限,最初的任务期限是6个月,最新任务期限是12个月。

Work and mandate

The Committee is supported by the Panel of Experts on the Sudan, which is comprised of five experts who are home based. The Panel’s current mandate was extended by paragraph 2 of Security Council resolution 2400 (2018) until 12 March 2019.

The Sudan Panel of Experts is mandated by resolutions 1591 (2005), 1779 (2007), 1841 (2008), 1945 (2010), 2035 (2012), 2138 (2014), 2200 (2015), 2265 (2016), 2340 (2017) and 2400 (2018) inter alia, to:

  • Assist the Committee in monitoring the implementation of the measures imposed by the Security Council (arms embargo, travel ban and assets freeze) and make recommendations to the Committee on actions the Security Council may want to consider
  • Assess progress towards reducing violations by all parties of the arms embargo and progress towards removing impediments to the political process, threats to stability in Darfur and the region, violations of international humanitarian law or violations of abuses of human rights, including those that involve attacks on the civilian population, sexual- and gender-based violence and violations and abuses against children, and other violations of the relevant resolutions
  • Report on the implementation and effectiveness of paragraph 10 of resolution 1945 (2010) (by which the Security Council decided that all States shall ensure that any sale or supply of arms and related materiel to the Sudan not prohibited by resolutions 1556 (2004) and 1591 (2005) are made conditional upon the necessary end user documentation)
  • Provide to the Committee with information on the individuals and entities that meet the listing criteria in paragraph 3 (c) of resolution 1591 (2005)
  • Investigate the financing and role of armed, military and political groups in attacks against civilians and UNAMID personnel in Darfur
  • Investigate any means of the financing of armed groups in Darfur
  • Coordinate its activities as appropriate with the operations of the African Union/United Nations Hybrid operation in Darfur (UNAMID), with international efforts to promote a political process in Darfur, and with other Panels or Groups of Experts as relevant to the implementation of its mandate
  • Provide a first report on its activities to the Committee and, after discussion with the Committee, a final report to the Council with its recommendations and findings
  • Provide quarterly updates to the Committee regarding its activities, including Panel travel, any obstacles encountered to the fulfilment of its mandate, as well as violations of any part of the sanctions regime to be reported immediately

The Panel of Experts on the Sudan was established by the Security Council in resolution 1591 (2005) on 29 March 2005. The Panel was originally comprised of four experts and was based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Since 2012 the Panel has been home based. By resolution 1713 (2006) of 29 September 2006, the Council added a fifth expert to the Panel to enable it to better carry out its work. The Council has extended the Panel’s mandate on a number of occasions, with the original mandate being for a period of six months and the latest mandate being for a period of twelve months.