عمل الفريق وولايته

تتلقى اللجنة الدعم من فريق الخبراء المعني بالسودان، المؤلف من خمسة خبراء يضطلعون بعملهم من مقار إقامتهم. وقد مُددت ولاية الفريق الحالية بموجب الفقرة 2 من قرار مجلس الأمن 2400 (2018) حتى 12 آذار/مارس 2019.

ويُكلَّف فريق الخبراء المعني بالسودان بموجب القرارات 1591 (2005) و 1779 (2007) و 1841 (2008) و 1945 (2010) و 2035 (2012) و 2138 (2014) و 2200 (2015) و 2265 (2016) و 2340 (2017) و 2400 (2018) بالاضطلاع بما يلي، في جملة أمور:

  •  مساعدة اللجنة على رصد تنفيذ التدابير التي فرضها مجلس الأمن (حظر توريد الأسلحة، وحظر السفر، وتجميد الأصول)، وتقديم توصيات إلى اللجنة بشأن الإجراءات التي قد يود مجلس الأمن أن ينظر فيها
  • تقييم التقدم المحرز للحد من انتهاكات جميع الأطراف لحظر توريد الأسلحة، وتقييم التقدم نحو إزالة العوائق التي تعترض العملية السياسية، والتصدي لتهديدات الأمن في دارفور وفي المنطقة، ولانتهاكات القانون الإنساني الدولي أو انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك تلك التي تشمل هجمات على المدنيين، وللعنف الجنسي والعنف القائم على نوع الجنس، وللانتهاكات والاعتداءات ضد الأطفال، وغيرها من انتهاكات للقرارات ذات الصلة
  • تقديم تقارير عن تنفيذ وفعالية الفقرة 10 من القرار 1945 (2010) (التي قرر مجلس الأمن بموجبها أن تكفل جميع الدول أن أي بيع إلى السودان أو إمداد له بالأسلحة والأعتدة المتصلة بها التي لا يحظرها القراران 1556 (2004) و 1591 (2005) مقيد بشرط تقديم ما يلزم من وثائق لتحديد المستخدم النهائي
  • تقديم معلومات إلى اللجنة عن أي أفراد أو كيانات تستوفي معايير إدراج الاسم في القائمة على النحو الوارد في الفقرة 3 (ج) من القرار 1591 (2005)
  • التحقيق في وسائل تمويل الجماعات المسلحة والعسكرية والسياسية وفي دورها في الهجمات ضد المدنيين وأفراد العملية المختلطة للاتحاد الأفريقي والأمم المتحدة في دارفور
  • استقصاء جميع سبل تمويل الجماعات المسلحة في دارفور
  • تنسيق أنشطته حسب الاقتضاء مع عمليات الاتحاد الأفريقي/العملية المختلطة للاتحاد الأفريقي والأمم المتحدة في دارفور (يوناميد)، ومع الجهود الدولية الرامية إلى تعزيز العملية السياسية في دارفور، ومع أفرقة أو مجموعات الخبراء الأخرى ذات الصلة لتنفيذ ولايته

  • تقديم تقرير أولي عن أنشطته إلى اللجنة والقيام، بعد إجراء مناقشة مع اللجنة، بتقديم تقرير نهائي إلى المجلس يتضمن توصياته ونتائجه

  • تقديم معلومات فصلية مستكملة إلى اللجنة بشأن أنشطته، تشمل التفاصيل المتعلقة بسفر الفريق، وأي عقبات تعترض الوفاء بولايته، وأيّ من الانتهاكات لنظام الجزاءات التي يتعين الإبلاغ عنها فورا

    وقد أنشأ مجلس الأمن فريق الخبراء المعني بالسودان بموجب القرار 1591 (2005) في 29 آذار/مارس 2005. وكان الفريق يتألف أساسا من أربعة خبراء، وكان مقره في أديس أبابا، إثيوبيا. ومنذ عام 2012، أصبح أعضاء الفريق يضطلعون بمهامهم من مقار إقامتهم. وبموجب القرار 1713 (2006) المؤرخ 29 أيلول/سبتمبر 2006، أضاف المجلس خبيرا خامسا إلى الفريق لتمكينه من تحسين اضطلاعه بعمله. وقد مدد المجلس ولاية الفريق في عدد من المناسبات، وكانت الولاية الأساسية لمدة ستة أشهر، وحُددت ولايته الأخيرة بمدة اثني عشر شهرا.

Work and mandate

The Committee is supported by the Panel of Experts on the Sudan, which is comprised of five experts who are home based. The Panel’s current mandate was extended by paragraph 2 of Security Council resolution 2400 (2018) until 12 March 2019.

The Sudan Panel of Experts is mandated by resolutions 1591 (2005), 1779 (2007), 1841 (2008), 1945 (2010), 2035 (2012), 2138 (2014), 2200 (2015), 2265 (2016), 2340 (2017) and 2400 (2018) inter alia, to:

  • Assist the Committee in monitoring the implementation of the measures imposed by the Security Council (arms embargo, travel ban and assets freeze) and make recommendations to the Committee on actions the Security Council may want to consider
  • Assess progress towards reducing violations by all parties of the arms embargo and progress towards removing impediments to the political process, threats to stability in Darfur and the region, violations of international humanitarian law or violations of abuses of human rights, including those that involve attacks on the civilian population, sexual- and gender-based violence and violations and abuses against children, and other violations of the relevant resolutions
  • Report on the implementation and effectiveness of paragraph 10 of resolution 1945 (2010) (by which the Security Council decided that all States shall ensure that any sale or supply of arms and related materiel to the Sudan not prohibited by resolutions 1556 (2004) and 1591 (2005) are made conditional upon the necessary end user documentation)
  • Provide to the Committee with information on the individuals and entities that meet the listing criteria in paragraph 3 (c) of resolution 1591 (2005)
  • Investigate the financing and role of armed, military and political groups in attacks against civilians and UNAMID personnel in Darfur
  • Investigate any means of the financing of armed groups in Darfur
  • Coordinate its activities as appropriate with the operations of the African Union/United Nations Hybrid operation in Darfur (UNAMID), with international efforts to promote a political process in Darfur, and with other Panels or Groups of Experts as relevant to the implementation of its mandate
  • Provide a first report on its activities to the Committee and, after discussion with the Committee, a final report to the Council with its recommendations and findings
  • Provide quarterly updates to the Committee regarding its activities, including Panel travel, any obstacles encountered to the fulfilment of its mandate, as well as violations of any part of the sanctions regime to be reported immediately

The Panel of Experts on the Sudan was established by the Security Council in resolution 1591 (2005) on 29 March 2005. The Panel was originally comprised of four experts and was based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Since 2012 the Panel has been home based. By resolution 1713 (2006) of 29 September 2006, the Council added a fifth expert to the Panel to enable it to better carry out its work. The Council has extended the Panel’s mandate on a number of occasions, with the original mandate being for a period of six months and the latest mandate being for a period of twelve months.