S/RES/1857 (2008)

Renews the arms embargo, previously imposed by paragraph 1 of resolution 1807 (2008), on all non-governmental entities and individuals operating in the DRC territory until 30 November 2009. Renews the measures on aviation and customs, as well as the travel ban and assets freeze on individuals and entities pursuant to resolution 1807 (2008) which apply also to individuals obstructing the access to, or the distribution of, humanitarian assistance in eastern DRC, as well as individuals or entities supporting illegal armed groups in eastern DRC through illicit trade of natural resources. Extends the mandate of the Group of Experts for a period ending on 30 November 2009 and requests the Group of Experts to report to the Council in writing, through the Committee, by 15 May 2009 and again before 15 October 2009.

Resolution number: 
Resolution Date: 
22 December 2008