دليل أساليب عمل مجلس الأمن

مذكرة معلومات أساسية عن الجلسات التي يعقدها أعضاء مجلس الأمن على أساس ”صيغة آريا“

تشكل جلسات ”صيغة آريا“ ممارسة حديثة نسبيا لأعضاء مجلس الأمن. فعلى غرار المشاورات غير الرسمية التي يعقدها مجلس الأمن بكامل هيئته، لا يرد ذكر لهذه الجلسات في ميثاق الأمم المتحدة أو النظام الداخلي المؤقت لمجلس الأمن. بيد أن المجلس، بمقتضى المادة 30 من الميثاق، هو سيد إجراءاته وله حرية تحديد ممارساته.

وجلسات ”صيغة آريا“ عبارة عن اجتماعات ذات طابع غير رسمي وسري للغاية تمكّن أعضاء مجلس الأمن من تبادل الآراء بطريقة صريحة وخاصة، ضمن إطار إجرائي متسم بالمرونة، مع الأشخاص الذين يعتقد عضو أو أعضاء المجلس الداعين إلى الاجتماع (الذين يتولون أيضا دور ميسري أو منظمي الاجتماعات) أن من المفيد الاستماع إليهم أو الذين يرغبون في إيصال رسالة إليهم. وتتيح هذه الجلسات لأعضاء المجلس المهتمين بالموضوع فرصة لإجراء حوار مباشر مع الممثلين السامين للحكومات والمنظمات الدولية - وكثيرا ما يكون ذلك بطلب من ممثلي المنظمات - وكذلك مع الأطراف من غير الدول، بشأن المسائل التي يُعنون بها، والتي تقع ضمن مسؤولية مجلس الأمن.

وتحمل هذه العملية اسم السفير دييغو آريا من فنزويلا، الذي بدأ هذه الممارسة في عام 1992، بصفته ممثل فنزويلا في المجلس (1992-1993). ولئن كان السفير آريا قد دعا إلى عقد جلسة من “جلسات صيغة آريا“ بنفسه، بصفته رئيس مجلس الأمن آنذاك، فإن الممارسة المتبعة مؤخرا تشير إلى أنه من المفضل أن يتخذ أعضاء المجلس غير الرئيس مثل هذه المبادرات. ويتولى العضو الداعي إلى عقد تلك الجلسات رئاستها أيضا.

وتختلف ”جلسات صيغة آريا“، عن مشاورات المجلس بكامل هيئته في الجوانب التالية: 

  • لا تشكل هذه الاجتماعات غير الرسمية نشاطا من أنشطة من المجلس، وهي تُعقد بمبادرة من عضو أو أكثر من أعضاء المجلس. يُترك أمر المشاركة في هذه الجلسات لفرادى الأعضاء، وهناك حالات آثر فيها بعض الأعضاء عدم الحضور.
  • تُعقد الجلسات في إحدى غرف الاجتماعات وليس في غرفة مشاورات مجلس الأمن.
  • يوجه الداعي إلى عقد الاجتماع دعوة خطية إلى الأعضاء الأربعة عشر الآخرين، تتضمن مكان ”جلسة صيغة آريا“ وتاريخها وموعدها، فضلا عن اسم الطرف الذي سيُستمع إليه، وتُوجه الدعوة بالفاكس من بعثة الداعي إلى الاجتماع وليس بإخطار من الأمانة العامة.
  • لا يُعلن عن هذه الجلسات في يومية الأمم المتحدة.
  • لا يُتوقع حضور أعضاء الأمانة العامة، ما لم يُدعوا إلى الحضور، باستثناء المترجمين الشفويين وموظف من موظفي المؤتمرات.

المصدر: ورقة عمل غير رسمية مؤرخة 25 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2002، أعدتها الأمانة العامة للأمم المتحدة.

Working Methods Handbook

Background Note on the "Arria-Formula" Meetings of the Security Council Members

The "Arria-formula meetings " are a relatively recent practice of the members of the Security Council. Like the informal consultations of the whole of the Security Council, they are not envisaged in the Charter of the United Nations or the Security Council’s provisional rules of procedure. Under Article 30 of the Charter, however, the Council is the master of its own procedure and has the latitude to determine its own practices.

The "Arria-formula meetings" are very informal, confidential gatherings which enable Security Council members to have a frank and private exchange of views, within a flexible procedural framework, with persons whom the inviting member or members of the Council (who also act as the facilitators or convenors) believe it would be beneficial to hear and/or to whom they may wish to convey a message. They provide interested Council members an opportunity to engage in a direct dialogue with high representatives of Governments and international organizations — often at the latter’s request — as well as non-State parties, on matters with which they are concerned and which fall within the purview of responsibility of the Security Council.

The process is named after Ambassador Diego Arria of Venezuela, who, as the representative of Venezuela on the Council (1992-1993), initiated the practice in 1992. Although Ambassador Arria, as the then President of the Security Council, had himself convened in 1992 as an “Arria-formula meeting”, the recent practice suggests a preference for such initiatives to be taken by members of the Council other than the President. The convening member is also chairing such meetings.
The “Arria-formula meetings” differ from the consultations of the whole of the Council in the following respects:

  • Such informal gatherings do not constitute an activity of the Council and are convened at the initiative of a member or members of the Council. Participation in such meetings is for individual members to decide upon and there have been instances when some members chose not to attend.
  • They are held in a Conference Room, and not in the Security Council Consultation Room.
  • The convenor issues a written invitation to the other fourteen members, indicating the place, date and time of the “Arria-formula meeting”, as well as the name of the party to be heard, by a fax from his/her Mission rather than by notification from the Secretariat.
  • They are not announced in the daily Journal of the United Nations.
  • Unless so invited, members of the Secretariat are not expected to attend, except for interpreters and a Conference Officer.

Source: Informal Non-Paper of 25 October 2002, prepared by the United Nations Secretariat.