受害者权利倡导者

Jane Connors, Victims' Rights Advocate  2017年8月23日,秘书长安东尼奥•古特雷斯任命来自澳大利亚的珍妮•康纳斯为联合国首位受害者权利倡导者。

  古特雷斯秘书长在“防止性剥削和性虐待特别措施:新办法”报告中承诺,联合国将在防止和应对性剥削和虐待的努力中,将受害者的权利和尊严置于优先位置。作为受害者权利倡导者,康纳斯女士将与承担援助受害者责任的联合国系统行动者协调,向受害者援助工作提供综合性和战略性的支持。她将同政府机构、公民社会以及国家、法律和人权组织一起工作,建立支持网络,并帮助确保包括受害者补救措施在内的当地法律得到全面执行。

  康纳斯女士此前在学术、联合国和民间社会领域、在人权倡导和人道主义援助方面,都从事过长期且多方面的工作。在这项任命前,她是位于日内瓦的大赦国际法律与政策国际推广部门的负责人。再之前,她是联合国人权高级专员办事处(人权高专办)研究和发展权利司司长。2002年,康纳斯女士加入人权高专办,在人权条约司工作,担任特别程序处处长。1996年至2002年,她在位于纽约的经济和社会事务部的提高妇女地位司担任妇女权利科科长。

  在加入联合国前,康纳斯女士曾在联合王国的伦敦大学东方与非洲研究学院、兰卡斯特大学和诺丁汉大学,以及澳大利亚的堪培拉大学和澳大利亚国立大学担任法律教师。

  康纳斯女士拥有澳大利亚国立大学的法学硕士学位、法学学士学位(荣誉)和文学学士学位。

Victims' Rights Advocate

Jane Connors, Victims' Rights AdvocateJane Connors of Australia was appointed by Secretary-General António Guterres as the first Victims’ Rights Advocate for the United Nations on 23 August 2017.
 
The Secretary-General in his report on “Special measures for protection from sexual exploitation and abuse: a new approach”, pledged that the United Nations will put the rights and dignity of victims at the forefront of its efforts to prevent and respond to sexual exploitation and abuse.  As Victims’ Rights Advocate, Ms. Connors will support an integrated, strategic response to victim assistance in coordination with United Nations system actors with responsibility for assisting victims. She will work with government institutions, civil society, and national and legal and human rights organizations to build networks of support and to help ensure that the full effect of local laws, including remedies for victims, are brought to bear. 
 
Ms. Connors brings to the position a long and multi-faceted career in human rights advocacy as well as human rights and humanitarian assistance in the academic, United Nations and civil society spheres. Prior to this appointment she was International Advocacy Director Law and Policy for Amnesty International in Geneva. Prior to that, she was Director of the Research and Right to Development Division at the United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR). In 2002 she joined OHCHR, where she worked in the Human Rights Treaties Division and as Chief of the Special Procedures Branch. From 1996 and 2002 she was the Chief of the Women’s Rights Section in the Division for the Advancement of Women in the Department of Economic and Social Affairs in New York.
 
Before joining the United Nations, Ms. Connors was a law teacher at the School of Oriental and African Studies in the University of London, the Universities of Lancaster and Nottingham, in the United Kingdom, and the University of Canberra and the Australian National University in Australia.
 
Ms. Connors holds a Masters of Laws, Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and Bachelor of Arts from the Australian National University.

 

'This role is to give a voice to the victims' - Jane Connors, Victims' Rights Advocate