7 May 2018

Special Committee on Decolonization to Hold Pacific Regional Seminar in Saint George’s, Grenada, 9 to 11 May 2018

The Special Committee on decolonization will hold the 2018 Pacific Regional Seminar in Saint George’s, Grenada, from 9 to 11 May with a view to accelerating action in implementation of the Third International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism (2011-2020).

The Seminar is held under the auspices of the Special Committee, which is formally known as the Special Committee on the Situation with regard to the Implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples (also known as the Special Committee of 24 or simply as “C-24”).

The theme of the 2018 Seminar is “Implementation of the Third International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism: towards the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals in the Non-Self-Governing Territories: social, economic and environmental challenges”.

There are 17 Non-Self-Governing Territories under the purview of the Special Committee:  American Samoa, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), French Polynesia, Gibraltar, Guam, Montserrat, New Caledonia, Pitcairn, Saint Helena, Tokelau, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States Virgin Islands and Western Sahara.  The administering Powers are France, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Taking into consideration recent developments in the Pacific, Caribbean, and other areas, the Seminar will review the situation with respect to the 17 Territories, including the issue of support from various organizations within the United Nations system and other organizations.

The Seminar’s conclusions and recommendations will be considered by the Special Committee at its June substantive session, and subsequently transmitted to the General Assembly.

Ambassador Walton Alfonso Webson of Antigua and Barbuda, Chairman of the Special Committee, will preside over the Seminar. 

Seminar participants invited include a Special Committee delegation comprising the Bureau and members of regional groups, United Nations Member States, including administering Powers, as well as representatives of the Territories, civil society and non-governmental organizations as well as experts.

The 29 members of the Special Committee are Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Chile, China, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Fiji, Grenada, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Mali, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sierra Leone, Syria, Timor-Leste, Tunisia, United Republic of Tanzania and Venezuela.

The 2018 annual Secretariat working papers on each Non-Self-Governing Territory are available on the United Nations decolonization website at

Grenada hosted the Caribbean Regional Seminar twice before, from 17 to 19 June 1992 and from 22 to 24 May 2007.


* A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).

For information media. Not an official record.