19 April 2016

United Nations Poster for Peace Contest Winners to Be Honoured 3 May at Headquarters Event Promoting Nuclear Disarmament

NEW YORK, 19 April (Office for Disarmament Affairs) — Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, General Assembly President Mogens Lykketoft and United Nations Messenger of Peace Michael Douglas will congratulate 11 artists who won the United Nations Poster for Peace contest on 3 May from 6:15 p.m. to 6:45 p.m.  The event will take place in the disarmament section of the United Nations tour route on the 3rd Floor of the General Assembly building.  The first three winners are expected to join the event either in person or via video message.

The United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs organized the Poster for Peace contest to raise awareness for the need for nuclear disarmament and to inspire citizens across the globe to use their artistic talents to promote a world free of nuclear weapons.  The contest ran from 24 October 2015 to 24 January 2016 in partnership with the Office of the President of the General Assembly of the United Nations, the United Nations Foundation, the World Federation of the United Nations and United Nations Academic Impact.  The contest attracted 4,149 entries from 123 countries and the specially designed website received 200,000 page views from more than 180 countries.

The contest was designed to commemorate the seventieth anniversary of the first United Nations General Assembly resolution, adopted on 24 January 1946, which established the goal of eliminating atomic weapons and all other major weapons of mass destruction.  While there have been significant reductions in nuclear arsenals since the height of the cold war, many thousands of nuclear weapons still remain.

First place goes to Ivan Ciro Palomino Huamani from Peru, who will receive $3,000 for Spinning Peace.  The $2,000 second-place winner is Michelle Li from the United States for Peace in Our Hands.  Third place, with an award of $1,000, recognizes Anjali Chandrashekar for Cutting Barriers through Peace.  From the United States, Ms. Chandrashekar also received an honourable mention for another poster entry titled Break Free.

The other honourable mentions are:  Who is the Bird Now? by Nadia Anthouli from Greece; The Red Beak by Jorge Malo from Spain; Change for Peace by Kazem Bokaei from Iran; War and Peace by Jixin Wang from China; Bomb of Peace by Sylwia Kuran from the United Kingdom; Love Peace No War by Lijang Sun from China; Must Be Zero by Kumi Nakazato from Japan; and Clear Nuclear Weapons from the World by Roberto Losada Maestre from Spain.  Each of these artists will receive a cash prize in the amount of $250.

All winning artwork will be used to support the United Nations message on the importance of disarmament and will be presented in various platforms including exhibits, banners, postcards and calendars.  All winning posters can be seen at

For media inquiries and further information, please contact Soo Hyun Kim at e-mail:

For information media. Not an official record.