Special Committee on Decolonization to Convene Regional Seminar on Eradicating Colonialism, in Quito, Ecuador, 30 May-1 June

25 May 2012

Special Committee on Decolonization to Convene Regional Seminar on Eradicating Colonialism, in Quito, Ecuador, 30 May-1 June

25 May 2012
General Assembly
Department of Public Information • News and Media Division • New York

Background Release





The Special Committee on the Situation with regard to the Implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples, also known as the Special Committee of 24, will hold its regional Pacific seminar on decolonization in Quito, Ecuador, from 30 May to 1 June.

Under the umbrella of the Third International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism (2011-2020), the seminar will discuss current realities in decolonization and prospects for progress.

Discussions will address the situation concerning the 16 Non Self-Governing Territories under the Special Committee’s purview in the Pacific, Caribbean, and other regions, as well as United Nations system assistance.  The Seminar’s conclusions and recommendations will be considered by the Special Committee at its substantive session in June and subsequently transmitted to the General Assembly.

The Chairman of the Special Committee, Ambassador Diego Morejón-Pazmiño ( Ecuador), will preside over the Seminar.  The participants will include a specially constituted delegation of the Special Committee, comprising the Bureau and members of regional groups, other United Nations Member States, including administering Powers, as well as representatives of the Non-Self-Governing Territories, civil society and non-governmental organizations and experts.

The members of the Special Committee are Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Chile, China, Republic of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Fiji, Grenada, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Mali, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sierra Leone, Syria, Timor-Leste, Tunisia, United Republic of Tanzania and Venezuela.

The Non-Self-Governing Territories are American Samoa, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas)*, Gibraltar, Guam, Montserrat, New Caledonia, Pitcairn, Saint Helena, Tokelau, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States Virgin Islands and Western Sahara.  The annual Secretariat working papers on each Territory are available on the United Nations decolonization website www.un.org/en/decolonization.


*     A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) (see document ST/CS/ SER.A/42).

* *** *

For information media • not an official record
For information media. Not an official record.