21 December 2023

Excellency,

At the outset of my Presidency, I reiterated the importance of the General Assembly prioritising the need to address the peculiar challenges faced by the countries in special situations – the Least Developed Countries (LDCs), Landlocked Developing Countries (LLDCs) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS) and to accelerate their progress in sustainable development.

The LDCs represent the poorest and the most vulnerable segment of the Member States; the LLDCs are vulnerable due to their remoteness and lack of access to the sea, essentially limiting access to trading ports and world markets; and the SIDS, also remote from world markets, are deeply impacted by climate change and sea-level rise.

In this regard, I have re-constituted the Board of Advisors to the President of the General Assembly on LDCs, LLDCs and SIDS – the LLS Advisory Board.

I have the honour to inform that I selected the following 17 representatives to serve as members of the LLS Board, based on their current leadership roles and organisational mandates, as well as the exemplary work on advancing the interests of LDCs, LLDCs and SIDS:

- 1. Ms. Rabab Fatima High Representative for LDCs, LLDCs and SIDS (OHRLLS).
- 2. **H.E. Ms Paula Narváez Ojeda** Permanent Representative of Chile to the United Nations and President of the Economic and Social Council.
- 3. **H.E. Mr. Lok Bahadur Thapa** Permanent Representative of Nepal to the United Nations and Chair of the Group of Least Developed Countries.
- 4. **H.E. Dr. Gladys Mokhawa** Permanent Representative of Botswana to the United Nations and Chair of the Group of Landlocked Developing Countries.
- 5. **H.E. Mr. Fatumanava-o-Upolu III Pa'olelei Luteru** Permanent Representative of Samoa to the United Nations and Chair of Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS).
- 6. **H.E. Ms. Alya Ahmed Saif Al-Thani** Permanent Representative of Qatar, Host country of the Fifth United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries (LDC5).
- 7. **H.E. Ernest Rwamucyo** Permanent Representative of Rwanda to the United Nations, Host country of the Third United Nations Conference on Landlocked Developing Countries.
- 8. **H.E. Mr. Walton Alfonso Webson** Permanent Representative of Antigua and Barbuda, Host country of the Fourth International Conference on Small Island Developing States (SIDS4).
- 9. **Mr. Li Junhua** Under-Secretary-General for UN Department of Social and Economic Affairs.

All Permanent Representatives
And Permanent Observers to the United Nations
New York

- 10. Mr. Achim Steiner Administrator, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).
- 11. Ms. Catherine Russel Executive Director, United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF).
- 12. Ms. Sima Bahous Executive Director, UN Women.
- 13. **Mr. Juan Jose Martinez Badillo** Chief of New York Office, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).
- 14. **Ms. Toni-Shae Freckleton** Chief, New York Liaison Office, United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UN DRR).
- 15. **Ms.** Ursula Wynhoven Representative and Head of the Liaison Office, International Telecommunications Union (ITU).
- 16. **Mr. Guangzhuo Qu** Director, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) Liaison Office with the United Nations.
- 17. **Mr. Pär Henrik Liljert** Director, International Organisation for Migration (IOM) Office to the United Nations.

The Board will continue to act as a catalyst for providing political and strategic advice. We will build on the momentum gained during the Fifth UN Conference on LLDCs and capitalize on the opportunity to exercise political leadership emanating from the two conferences to be held in 2024 – the Fourth International Conference for SIDS as well as the Third United Nations Conference on LLDCs.

I also hereby transmit, for your ease of reference, herewith an informal summary of the First Meeting of the Board, which was held on 28 November 2023.

I count on your continued support and commitment as we collectively champion the need for sustainable development in these countries, in the coming months and beyond.

For additional information, your Office may contact **Ms. Asha DeSuza**, Team Leader for Sustainable Development, and focal point for the LLS Advisory Board at my Office by e-mail: asha.desuza@un.org.

Please accept, Excellency, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Dennis Francis