• Opinion: The Year to Stop the Decline of the Ocean’s Health

    With every breath we take, we are connected to the ocean. The ocean gives us oxygen, provides us with food and livelihoods. It stabilises our climate, absorbing most of the heat trapped in the Earth’s system. Billions of humans, animals and plants rely on a healthy ocean. But the ocean’s health is in trouble.

    Read more

Serving 91 Vulnerable Member States of the United Nations

The United Nations Office of the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States (UN-OHRLLS) supports groups of vulnerable countries in the United Nations System.


The 46 Least Developed Countries, 32 Landlocked Developing Countries and 38 Small Island Developing States have their own special challenges.

Small Island Developing States Global Business Network Forum 2022 – Palau

The SIDS Global Business Network by UN-OHRLLS harnesses the innovation of the private sector for sustainable development in SIDS. Registration is open for the 2022 SIDS Global Business Network Forum which will take place in person on 12 April on the margins of the Our Ocean Conference being hosted by Palau.

Least Developed

Least Developed Countries (LDCs) represent the poorest and most vulnerable segment of the international community.

Together Far Apart

LDC Future Forum

Small Island
Developing States

Small Island Developing States (SIDS) are remote from world markets and suffer from climate change and fragile natural environments.