الدول الأعضاء في إقليم الأمريكيتين تقيم شبكتي عمل للمساهمة في عقد الأمم المتحدة للعمل من أجل التغذية

A selection of foods that are high in fat, sugar and/or salt.

العمل في سبيل إنهاء جميع أشكال سوء التغذية بحلول سنة 2030 تماشيًا مع أهداف التنمية المستدامة وتوصيات المؤتمر الدولي الثاني المعني بالتغذية 

 

5 ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2018: أعلنت وزارة الصحة في البرازيل إطلاق شبكتي عمل جديدتين في إقليم الأمريكيتين ضمن شراكة مع وزارات الصحة في بلدان أخرى وذلك في إطار عقد الأمم المتحدة للعمل من أجل التغذية 2016-2025. 

 

وتوفّر شبكة العمل بشأن استراتيجيات الحد من استهلاك الملح من أجل الوقاية من أمراض شرايين القلب ومكافحتها في الأمريكيتين الدعم، من خلال تبادل التجارب، لوضع استراتيجيات للحد من استهلاك الملح من أجل الوقاية من أمراض شرايين القلب ومكافحتها، وتحسين تلك الاستراتيجيات وتنفيذها وتقييمها.

 

وتسعى هذه الشبكة إلى العمل على تحقيق الغايات العالمية التي وضعتها جمعية الصحة العالمية للحد من عوامل الخطر المتصلة بالأمراض غير السارية. وسوف تتولى البرازيل رئاسة الشبكة خلال الفترة 2018-2020 في حين ستشارك كلّ من الأرجنتين وكوستاريكا وكولومبيا في تولي منصب نائب الرئيس.

 

وتسعى شبكة العمل لوضع خطوط توجيهية للأغذية في إقليم الأمريكيتين إلى توفير الدعم للبلدان من أجل وضع خطوط توجيهية تُعنى بمستوى تجهيز الأغذية عند رسم السياسات العامة، وتنفيذ تلك الخطوط التوجيهية ورصدها وتقييمها. وتتضمن الخطوط التوجيهية الغذائية توصيات بشأن الأنماط الغذائية والمتعلقة بالنمط الغذائي. وهي لا تتيح المغذيات الضرورية فحسب بل تحدّ أيضًا من خطر الإصابة بأمراض شرايين القلب وتحسّن الصحة العامة للسكان.

 

وتفيد Anna Lartey، مديرة شعبة التغذية والنظم الغذائيّة في منظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة (المنظمة) وFrancesco Branca، مدير إدارة التغذية من أجل الصحة والتنمية في منظمة الصحة العالمية بأنّ "أمانة عقد العمل من أجل التغذية المشتركة ترحّب بإنشاء شبكتي العمل الجديدتين المذكورتين من قبل وزارة الصحة في البرازيل". "إنّ التزام البرازيل خير دليل على أنّ القيادة الوطنية أساسية لمكافحة سوء التغذية؛ ويتيح عقد العمل من أجل التغذية أداة فعّالة لتشجيع التغذية المستدامة."

 

ويُعدّ إنشاء شبكتي العمل المذكورتين خطوة هامة باتجاه التشجيع على اتباع أنماط غذائية صحية ومكافحة الأمراض غير السارية مثل أمراض القلب والسرطان وداء السكري والبدانة. فهذه الأمراض هي المسؤولة الأولى عن الوفيات في إقليم الأمريكيتين وتشكل تهديدًا على التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية.

 

ويتمثل الهدف الرئيسي لعقد الأمم المتحدة للعمل من أجل التغذية الذي أعلنته الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في عام 2016 في تسريع عملية تنفيذ الالتزامات المقطوعة خلال المؤتمر الدولي الثاني المعني بالتغذية وتحقيق الغايات العالمية المتعلقة بالتغذية والأمراض غير السارية المتصلة بالنمط الغذائي بحلول سنة 2025 والمساهمة في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة بحلول سنة 2030 في ستة مجالات متداخلة منبثقة عن توصيات إطار العمل الصادر عن المؤتمر الدولي الثاني المعني بالتغذية وأهداف التنمية المستدامة ذات الصلة.

 

وتتمثل إحدى أساليب المشاركة في إطار عقد العمل من أجل التغذية في آليات مثل شبكات العمل التي تشكل تحالفات غير رسمية بين البلدان بغرض تسريع الجهود ومواءمتها حول مواضيع محددة متصلة بمجال واحد أو أكثر من مجالات العمل الخاصة بعقد العمل من أجل التغذية. وتدعو هذه التحالفات إلى سنّ سياسات وتشريعات تتيح تبادل الممارسات والتجارب وتسلّط الضوء على النجاحات والدروس المستفادة وتقدم الدعم المتبادل لتسريع عجلة التنفيذ.

Member States in the Region of the Americas establish two action networks to contribute to the UN Decade of Action on Nutrition

Photo credit: WHO/Eduardo Martino

Working towards ending all forms of malnutrition by 2030, in line with the Sustainable Development Goals and with the recommendations of the Second International Conference on Nutrition (ICN2)

5 December, 2018: The Ministry of Health of Brazil has announced the launch of two new action networks in the Region of the Americas, in partnership with health ministries in other countries, as part of the United Nations Decade of Action on Nutrition 2016-2025.

The Action Network on Strategies for Reducing Salt Consumption for the Prevention and Control of Cardiovascular Disease in the Americas, supports, through exchange of experience, the development, improvement, implementation and evaluation of strategies to reduce salt consumption to prevent and control cardiovascular disease.

This network aims to work towards meeting the World Health Assembly global targets from reducing risk factors for non-communicable diseases (NCDs). For the period of 2018-2020, Brazil will assume the presidency, and Argentina, Costa Rica and Colombia will jointly hold the vice-presidency.

The Action Network on Food Guidelines for the Region of the Americas aims to support countries in the development, implementation, monitoring and assessment of guidelines that deal with the level of food processing when public policies are being developed. The dietary guidelines feature recommendations on food and dietary patterns. These will not only provide the necessary nutrients but also reduce the risk of NCDs and improve the general health of the population.

“The joint Nutrition Decade Secretariat welcomes the creation of these two new action networks by the Ministry of Health of Brazil,” said Anna Lartey, Director of Division of Nutrition and Food Systems at the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, and Francesco Branca, Director of WHO’s Department of Nutrition for Health and Development. “Brazil’s commitment demonstrates that national leadership is essential for improving malnutrition; the Decade of Action on Nutrition offers a powerful vehicle to promote sustainable nutrition.”

The establishment of these two action networks is an important step forward in promoting healthy diets and fighting NCDs like heart disease, cancer, diabetes and obesity. These diseases are the number one cause of death in the Americas’ region and a threat to socio-economic development.

The primary objective of the UN Decade of Action on Nutrition, proclaimed in 2016 by the UN General Assembly, is to accelerate implementation of the ICN2 commitments, achieve the global nutrition and diet-related NCD targets by 2025, and contribute to the realization of the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030, across six cross-cutting areas, derived from the ICN2 Framework for Action recommendations and relevant to SDGs.

One of the modalities of engagement within the Nutrition Decade are mechanisms such as action networks, which are informal coalitions of countries aimed at accelerating and aligning efforts around specific topics linked to one or more action areas of the Nutrition Decade. These coalitions advocate for the establishment of policies and legislation, allowing exchange of practices and experiences, highlighting successes and lessons learnt, and providing mutual support to accelerate implementation.