UN Capital Development Fund (UNCDF)

The United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF) is the capital investment agency of the United Nations for the LDCs. It provides access to microfinance and investment capital. UNCDF programmes help to empower women, and are designed to catalyze larger capital flows from the private sector, national Governments and development partners, for maximum impact towards the internationally agreed developments goals.

See also:

Utilization by LDCs:

UNCDF operates in 39 countries, including 30 Least Developed Countries (LDCs): Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Guinea, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Vanuatu, and Zambia.

Smooth Transition:

The UNCDF expressly recognizes, in its Strategic Framework, the challenges of transitioning out of the LDC category. Programmes can continue to be funded by the UNCDF under the same conditions for a period of three years. Assuming continued development progress, funding for another two years can be provided on a 50/50 cost-sharing basis with either the Government or a third party. Additional modalities could be developed for individual graduated countries.

Sources and further information:

  1. UNCDF website
  2. UNCDF Strategic Framework, 2018-2021