Special treatment under regional agreements

Certain regional trade agreements contain special provisions for LDCs, including longer or delayed implementation periods, more favourable rules of origin, and others (click on the links for more information on LDC-specific provisions for each)(under construction):

  • South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA) (Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka)
  • Asia Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA) (Bangladesh, China, India, Lao PDR, Republic of Korea, Sri Lanka; Mongolia concluded bilateral negotiations on tariff concessions and is to become the seventh member)
  • Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER Plus) (Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Australia and New Zealand)
  • Preferential Tariff Arrangement-Group of Eight Developing Countries (D8) (Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Turkey) (Bangladesh, the only LDC, enjoyed a longer implementation period for tariff reduction)

Resources and references:

  1. Asian Regional Integration Center
  2. UNESCAP Asia-Pacific Trade and Investment Agreement Database
  3. WTO Regional Trade Agreements Database
  4. Global Preferential Trade Agreements Database

Last updated: January 24 2019