Common Fund for Commodities (CFC)

UNCTAD IV (held in Nairobi May 1976) adopted the Integrated Programme for Commodities.  Subsequently, the Agreement Establishing the Common Fund for Commodities [CFC] was adopted on 27 June 1980 at Geneva, by the United Nations Negotiating Conference on a Common Fund under the Integrated Programme for Commodities. The Agreement entered into force on 19 June 1989.

The Agreement Establishing the Common Fund for Commodities stipulates that due emphasis shall be given to the LDCs and to small producers-exporters and to the commodities of interest to these groups. The Fund’s support should continue to give priority to the LDCs and the poorer strata of the population in other developing countries. Small-holders as well as small and medium sized enterprises involved in commodity production, processing and trade in LDCs, other developing countries and countries with economies in transition will also be accorded priority consideration. LDCs shall receive particular attention with regard to the location of projects as well.

Utilization by LDCs:

Among the 47 countries classified as LDCs, all are members of the Common Fund, except for: Cambodia, Eritrea, Kiribati, Liberia, Solomon Islands, South Sudan, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Available smooth transition procedures:


  1. UNCTAD Resolution on the Integrated Programme for Commodities (1976).
  2. The Common Fund for Commodities
  3. Common Fund for Commodities: guidelines for operation of the CFC
  4. Enabling the Graduation of LDCs: Enhancing the Role of commodities and Improving Agricultural Productivity
  5. Member states of Common Fund
  6. List of Least Developed Countries