Human Rights Council Election (17 May 2007)


Number of votes (in parentheses) obtained in first round of balloting:

Number of votes (in parentheses) obtained in second round of balloting:

Webcast (2h45)

 In accordance with paragraph 7 of General Assembly resolution 60/251 “the Council shall consist of forty-seven Member States, which shall be elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly; the membership shall be based on equitable geographical distribution, and seats shall be distributed as follows among regional groups: Group of African States, thirteen; Group of Asian States, thirteen; Group of Eastern European States, six; Group of Latin American and Caribbean States, eight; and Group of Western European and other States, seven; the members of the Council shall serve for a period of three years and shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms”.

Voluntary pledges that Member States (listed below) have chosen to provide in support of their respective candidacies, in accordance with paragraph 8 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, are issued as General Assembly documents in all official languages.

List of Candidates

(P) With pledge
Click on country name to view pledge – in PDF

African States (4 vacant seats) Asian States
(4 vacant seats)
Eastern European States
(2 vacant seats)
Latin American and Caribbean States
(2 vacant seats)
Western European and other States
(2 vacant seats)
Angola (P)
India (P) [A/61/718] Belarus (P) [A/61/849] Bolivia (P) [A/61/839] Denmark (P) [A/61/742]
Egypt (P)
Indonesia (P)
Bosnia and Herzegovina (P)
Nicaragua (P)
Italy (P)
Madagascar (P)
Philippines (P)
Slovenia (P) [A/61/719]   Netherlands (P)
South Africa (P)
[ A/61/889]
Qatar (P)

List of Members

Members outlined in bold retired on 18 June 2007

African States
(13 seats)
Asian States
(13 seats)
Eastern European States
(6 seats)
Latin American and
Caribbean States 
(8 seats)
Western European
and other States
(7 seats)
Algeria 2007 Bahrain 2007 Azerbaijan 2009 Argentina 2007 Canada 2009
Cameroon 2009 Bangladesh 2009 Czech Republic 2007 Brazil 2008 Finland 2007
Djibouti 2009 China 2009

Poland 2007

Cuba 2009 France 2008
Gabon 2008 India 2007 Romania 2008 Ecuador 2007 Germany 2009
Ghana 2008 Indonesia 2007 Russian Federation 2009 Guatemala 2008 Netherlands 2007
Mali 2008 Japan 2008 Ukraine 2008 Mexico 2009 Switzerland 2009
Mauritius 2009 Jordan 2009   Peru 2008 United Kingdom 2008

Morocco 2007

Malaysia 2009   Uruguay 2009  
Nigeria 2009 Pakistan 2008      
Senegal 2009 Philippines 2007      
South Africa 2007 Republic of Korea 2008      
Tunisia 2007 Saudi Arabia 2009      
Zambia 2008 Sri Lanka 2008