Steering Committee

The Steering Committee of UNPDF was established by the Secretary-General to provide advice on the management and administration of the Fund. The Committee also ensures the formulation of a coherent programme for the projects and activities to be funded by Fund, and provide unity of focus, reporting and streamlining of efforts and agility in responding to the pressing needs of the international community.

The mandate of the Steering Committee includes: proposing cost and action plan and identifying priorities of the Fund; prioritizing among projects and activities to be funded; identifying adjustments to the amount of funds to be maintained in the Fund; and monitoring and evaluating projects and activities.

The current Steering Committee is chaired by Ms. Maria Luiza Ribeiro Viotti, Chef de Cabinet of the Secretary-General. Other members of the Steering Committee are:

  • Ambassador Zhang Jun, Permanent Representative of the People's Republic of China to the United Nations;
  • Mr. Liu Zhenmin, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs;
  • Mr. Yang Tao, Director-General, Department of International Organizations and Conferences, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of China; and
  • Ms. Wang Ying, Director-General, Department of Administrative and Law Enforcement, Ministry of Finance of China.