Technical Working Group 1: Energy Access

Co-Leads: UNDP, UN OHRLLS and the World Bank

This theme will address the need and means for accelerated actions towards universal access to electricity and clean cooking, as well as heating/cooling and other energy services.

Members Titles & Affiliations
Mr. Madhusudhan Adhikari Executive Director, Alternative Energy Promotion Centre
Mr. Sohel Ahmed Managing Director, Grameen Shakti
Ms. Mary Anderson Policy Advisor, UK Mission to the United Nations
Ms. Ladé Araba Managing Director, Convergence Africa
Ms. Raffaella Bellanca Senior Energy Advisor, World Food Programme
Mr. Morten Houmann Blomqvist Chief Advisor, Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Mr. Mark Carrato Coordinator, Power Africa, USAID
Ms. Divina Chingcuanco Senior Energy Policy Specialist, RTI International
Ms. Deborah Cornland Program Manager, Energy Specialist, Unit for Global Cooperation on Environment at the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency
Mr. Ashvin Dayal Senior Vice President, The Rockefeller Foundation
Mr. Denis Derushkin Head of Department, Russian Energy Agency
Ms. Christine Egan CEO, Collaborative Labeling and Appliance Standards Program (CLASP)
Mr. Solomone Fifita Manager, PCREEE
Ms. Kaci Ghania Deputy Director of Electricity at the Ministry of Energy and Mines, Algeria
Mr. Nicolas Guichard Deputy Head of Energy Unit, AFD
Ms. Svitlana Karpyshyna Acting Head of Eastern Partnership Assistance Unit, Energy Community
Mr. Adam Kendall Partner, McKinsey
Ms. Shazia Khan CEO and CoFounder, EcoEnergy
Ms. Jacqueline Kimeu International Coordinator, Access Coalition
Ms. Dymphna van der Lans CEO, Clean Cooking Alliance
Ms. Chebet Lesan Founder and CEO, BrightGreen Renewable Energy, Ltd.
Mr. Guangqing Liu Director, China Alliance for Clean Cookstoves
Ms. Francesca Manenti Senior Analyst - Centro Studi Internazionali
Mr. Vijay Modi Professor, The Earth Institute at Columbia University
Ms. Nthabiseng Mosia Chief Commercial Officer, Easy Solar (Sierra Leone & Liberia)
Ms. Yewande Olagbende CEO, Solad Power
Ms. Sheila Oparaocha Coordinator, ENERGIA
Ms. Cathy Oxby Chief Commercial Officer, Africa GreenCo
Mr. Sam Parker Director, Shell Foundation
Mr. Ignacio Perez-Arriaga Professor, Instituto de Investigacion Tecnologica (IIT), Universidad Pontificia Comillas
Mr. Koen Peters Executive Director, GOGLA
Mr. Jeff Prins Head of Renewable Energy, IKEA Foundation
Mr. Hafeez Rehman Director India, VITO; CEO, VITO Arabia LLC
Mr. Wale Shonibare Director, Energy Financial Solutions, Policy & Regulations, Power, Energy, Climate & Green Growth Complex; African Development Bank
Mr. Stefano Signore Head of Sustainable Energy and Climate Change, EU Commission – DG DEVCO
Ms. Kristina Skierka CEO, Power for All
Ms. Natalia Soebagjo Chair, Publish What You Pay Indonesia
Mr. Beniamin Strzelecki Global focal point, SDG7 Youth Constituency
Ms. Anahí Urquiza Professor at Chile University; Researcher at the Centre of Science Climate and Resilience; and Coordinator of the Energy Poverty Network
Mr. Frank van der Vleuten Policy Coordinator Climate Finance and Energy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands
Ms. Saskia Werther Program Manager, Doen Foundation
Ms. Davida Wood Lead for Energy Access & Energy Governance Practice, WRI
Mr. Yongping Zhai Energy Sector Chief, Asian Development Bank

Note: In addition to the Members listed below, the technical focal points of UN-Energy organisations will by default participate in any of the Technical Working Groups, as and where relevant.

May 2021

Final Meeting of TWG1

The final meeting of the Group featured a concluding discussion on the draft report. READ MORE


April 2021

Second Meeting of TWG1

The second meeting of the Group served to review the draft report in an interactive setting. READ MORE


March 2021

Annotated Outline of Thematic Report

The Co-Leads drafted an annotated outline for the Report of the TWG which has been shared with the Members of the Group for their review. READ MORE


February 2021

Secretariat Summary of the First Meeting

The meeting focused its discussion on how to accelerate electrification and clean cooking towards achieving SDG7. READ MORE


Concept Note

The Co-Leads drafted a concept note for the work of the TWG which has been shared with the Members of the Group for their review. READ MORE