Past Presidents

61st Session: Haya Rashed Al Khalifa

Portrait of Sheikha Haya Rashed Al Khalifa, President of the United Nations General Assembly’s 61st session. UN Photo/Paulo Filguerias

Haya Rashed Al Khalifa was elected President of the United Nations General Assembly’s 61st session on 8 June 2006. At the time, she was serving as Legal Adviser to the Royal Court in the Kingdom of Bahrain.

Haya Rashed Al Khalifa presided the General Assembly’s 61st session from 12 September 2006 to 17 September 2007.

On 8 June 2006, the General Assembly elected 21 Vice-Presidents for the 61st session:


2005 World Summit Follow-up

"As we prepare ourselves to complete the remaining tasks of the previous session," president Haya Rashed Al Khalifa said at the opening of the 61st session of the General Assembly, "we shall not overlook those recommendations of the 2005 World Summit outcome document which have yet to be fully implemented, such as; disarmament and non proliferation, Security Council reform, Mandate Review, and System-wide Coherence. All these are crucially important agendas. And working together, in the spirit of multilateralism, to achieve these goals, we can deliver a program of work to renew, strengthen and update the United Nations."

2005 Follow-up Consultation Processes
Other Consultation Processes

Statements and Messages

September 2007
August 2007


September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006


  • H.E. Haya Rashed Al Khalifa, President PDF
  • H.E. Mr. Ahmed Al Haddad, Chef de Cabinet
  • Ms. Jehan Al Arayedh, Deputy Chef de Cabinet
  • Ms. Hayfa Matar, Counsellor
  • H.E. Mr. Parfait Onanga-Anyanga, Special Adviser (Security Council and Follow-up Reforms)
  • Mr. Yasser Elnaggar, Senior Adviser (Management and Secretariat Reform)
  • Mr. Tareq Al-Banai, Adviser (Economic and Disarmament Affairs)
  • Ms. Unni Ramboll, Counsellor (General Assembly Affairs)
  • Mr. Robert Pollock, Speechwriter and Counsellor (ECOSOC, Development and Environmen)
  • Mr. Phuchphop Mongkolnavin, First Secretary (Legal Affairs)
  • Ms. Shamina de Gonzaga, Special Adviser on NGO Relations
  • Mr. Issa Makhlouf, Special Adviser (Social and Cultural Affairs)
  • Mr. Ashraf Kamal, Spokesperson
  • Ms. Frehiwot Bekele, Special Assistant to the Spokesperson
  • Mr. Paris Treantafeles, Web master
  • Ms. Najwa Mehdi, Assistant to the President
  • Ms. Merlyn D'Souza, Assistant to the Chef de Cabinet
  • Mrs. Catherine Keiley, Assistant to H.E. Parfait Onanga-Anyanga
  • Mr. Yasser Abdullah, Liason and Finance Officer

Quick Links

Key Documents