

Excellency,

On 9 May 2006, you elected the first forty-seven members of the newly established Human Rights Council. A further step has thus been taken toward making the Council operational. I attach a copy of the results of the election. They can also be found on the UN website (<a href="https://www.un.org/ga/60/elect/hrc">www.un.org/ga/60/elect/hrc</a>).

By concluding the elections to the Human Rights Council, another part of the 2005 World Summit Outcome has been implemented. I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere appreciation to the two Co-Chairs, Ambassador Dumisani Kumalo of South Africa and Ambassador Ricardo Arias of Panama. Their dedicated and constructive leadership was key to our common achievement.

I would also like to thank the Secretary-General for his attachment to human rights as evidenced in his report "In Larger Freedom" and his steadfast support during the negotiations.

Above all, I would like to express my gratitude to you for your commitment and support, not only to the Human Rights Council but to the entire reform agenda. We still have important work to do. I count on your continued cooperation in the interest of strengthening the United Nations and enhancing multilateralism, so strongly needed in today's world.

Please accept, Excellency, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Jan Eliasson

## **HUMAN RIGHTS COUNCIL ELECTIONS**

## **ELECTION RESULTS**

**African States**: Algeria (1 year), Cameroon (3 years), Djibouti (3 years), Gabon (2 years), Ghana (2 years), Mali (2 years), Mauritius (3 years), Morocco (1 year), Nigeria (3 years), Senegal (3 years), South Africa (1 year), Tunisia (1 year) and Zambia (2 years)

Asian States: Bahrain (1 year), Bangladesh (3 years), China (3 years), India (1 year), Indonesia (1 year), Japan (2 years), Jordan (3 years), Malaysia (3 years), Pakistan (2 years), Philippines (1 year), Republic of Korea (2 years), Saudi Arabia (3 years) and Sri Lanka (2 years)

Eastern European States: Azerbaijan (3 years), Czech Republic (1 year), Poland (1 year), Romania (2 years), Russian Federation (3 years) and Ukraine (2 years)

Latin American & Caribbean States: Argentina (1 year), Brazil (2 years), Cuba (3 years), Ecuador (1 year), Guatemala (2 years), Mexico (3 years), Peru (2 years) and Uruguay (3 years)

Western European & Other States: Canada (3 years), Finland (1 year), France (2 years), Germany (3 years), Netherlands (1 year), Switzerland (3 years) and United Kingdom (2 years)