77/407. Appointment of the judges of the United Nations Appeals Tribunal

At its 34th plenary meeting, on 15 November 2022, the General Assembly, pursuant to article 3 of the statute of the United Nations Appeals Tribunal, contained in annex II to resolution 63/253 of 24 December 2008, and on the recommendation of the Internal Justice Council,⁶ appointed Leslie Formine Forbang (Cameroon), Katharine Savage (South Africa), Abdelmohsen Ahmed Sheha (Egypt) and Nassib Ziadé (Lebanon/Chile) as judges of the Tribunal for a term of office beginning on 1 July 2023 and expiring on 30 June 2030 to fill the vacancies occurring on the expiration of the terms of office of Martha Halfeld Furtado de Mendonça Schmidt, Sabine Knierim, John Raymond Murphy and Dimitrios Raikos; and Gao Xiaoli (China) for a term of office beginning on 15 November 2022 and expiring on 30 June 2026 to fill the vacancy occurring as a result of the resignation of Jean-François Neven on 10 January 2022.

As a result, as of 1 July 2023, the United Nations Appeals Tribunal is composed as follows: Graeme COLGAN (New Zealand),* Leslie Formine FORBANG (Cameroon),** GAO Xiaoli (China),* Kanwaldeep SANDHU (Canada),* Katharine SAVAGE (South Africa),** Abdelmohsen Ahmed SHEHA (Egypt)** and Nassib ZIADÉ (Lebanon/Chile).**

* Term of office expires on 30 June 2026.

** Term of office expires on 30 June 2030.

77/408. Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

At its 34th plenary meeting, on 15 November 2022, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁷ appointed or reappointed the following persons as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions:

(a) Udo Fenchel (Germany), Olivio Fermín (Dominican Republic), Carlo Jacobucci (Italy), Ji Haojun (China),
Ji-sun Jun (Republic of Korea) and Matsuda Yukiko (Japan) for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2023;

(b) Stephani Scheer (United States of America) for a term of office beginning on 1 January 2023 and ending on 31 December 2023 as a result of the resignation of Donna-Marie Chiurazzi-Maxfield;

(c) Surendra Kumar Adhana (India) for a term of office beginning on 15 November 2022 and ending on 31 December 2023 as a result of the resignation of Vidisha Maitra.

As a result, as of 1 January 2023, the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions is composed as follows: Surendra Kumar ADHANA (India),* Yves Éric AHOUSSOUGBEMEY (Benin),** Amjad Qaid AL KUMAIM (Yemen),** Makiese Kinkela AUGUSTO (Angola),** Abdallah BACHAR BONG (Chad),* Feliksas BAKANAUSKAS (Lithuania),* Sharon BRENNEN-HAYLOCK (Bahamas),** Jakub CHMIELEWSKI (Poland),** Udo FENCHEL (Germany),*** Olivio FERMÍN (Dominican Republic),*** Carlo JACOBUCCI (Italy),*** JI Haojun (China),** Ji-Sun JUN (Republic of Korea),*** Nabil KALKOUL (Algeria),* Evgeny KALUGIN (Russian Federation),* Julia A. MACIEL (Paraguay),* MATSUDA Yukiko (Japan),*** Caroline NALWANGA (Uganda),* Juliana Gaspar RUAS (Brazil),* Stephani SCHEER (United States of America)* and Cihan TERZI (Türkiye).*

77/409. Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

At its 34th plenary meeting, on 15 November 2022, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁸ appointed or reappointed the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2023: Cheikh Tidiane Dème (Senegal), Gordon Eckersley

 ^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2023.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2024.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2025.

⁶ See A/77/129/Rev.1.

⁷ A/77/567, para. 5.

⁸ A/77/568, para. 4.

(Australia), Helena Concepción Felip Salazar (Paraguay), Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay), Marcel Jullier (Switzerland) and Joseph Masila (Kenya).

As a result, as of 1 January 2023, the Committee on Contributions is composed as follows: Syed Yawar ALI (Pakistan),** Phologo Kaone BOGATSU (Botswana),** Cheikh Tidiane DÈME (Senegal),*** Jasminka DINIĆ (Croatia),** Gordon ECKERSLEY (Australia),*** Helena Concepción FELIP SALAZAR (Paraguay),*** Bernardo GREIVER DEL HOYO (Uruguay),*** Michael HOLTSCH (Germany),* Ihor HUMENNYI (Ukraine),** Marcel JULLIER (Switzerland),*** Ji-Sun JUN (Republic of Korea),* KITANO Mitsuru (Japan),** Vadim LAPUTIN (Russian Federation),* LIN Shan (China),* Joseph MASILA (Kenya),*** Thomas Anthony REPASCH (United States of America),** Henrique da Silveira SARDINHA PINTO (Brazil)* and Steve TOWNLEY (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland).*

77/410. Confirmation of the appointment of members of the Investments Committee

At its 34th plenary meeting, on 15 November 2022, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁹ confirmed the appointment or reappointment by the Secretary-General of Jens Fricke (Germany), Michael Klein (United States of America) and Luciane Ribeiro (Brazil) as regular members of the Investments Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2023.

At the same meeting, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,¹⁰ confirmed the reappointment by the Secretary-General of Simon Jiang (China) as a regular member of the Investments Committee for a one-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2023.

At the same meeting, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,¹¹ confirmed the reappointment by the Secretary-General of Macky Tall (Mali) as an ad hoc member of the Investments Committee for a one-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2023.

As a result, as of 1 January 2023, the Investments Committee is composed as follows: Yasir O. AL-RUMAYYAN (Saudi Arabia, regular member),* Sarah Omotunde ALADE (Nigeria, regular member),* Jens FRICKE (Germany, regular member),*** HONDA Keiko (Japan, regular member),** Simon JIANG (China, regular member),* Natalia KHANJENKOVA (Russian Federation, regular member),* Michael KLEIN (United States of America, regular member),*** Patricia PARISE (Argentina, regular member),* Luciane RIBEIRO (Brazil, regular member)*** and Macky TALL (Mali, ad hoc member).*

77/411. Appointment of members of the International Civil Service Commission

At its 34th plenary meeting, on 15 November 2022, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,¹² appointed or reappointed the following persons as members of the International Civil Service Commission for a four-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2023: Andrew Gbebay Bangali (Sierra Leone), Xavier Bellmont Roldán (Spain), Ali Kurer (Libya), João Vargas (Brazil) and Boguslaw Winid (Poland).

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2023.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2024.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2025.

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2023.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2024.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2025.

⁹ A/77/569, para. 4 (a).

¹⁰ Ibid., para. 4 (b).

¹¹ Ibid., para. 4 (c).

¹² A/77/570, para. 6 (a).