POSTAL ADDRESS — ADRESSE POSTALE: UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017

CABLE ADDRESS — ADRESSE TELEGRAPHIQUE: UNATIONS NEWYORK

REFERENCE

11 June 2020

SUBJECT:

Election of the Chair and other officers of the Administrative and Budgetary Committee (Fifth Committee) Committee at the seventy-fifth session

Excellency,

I refer to my letter dated 8 June 2020, which placed the decision of the Committee to elect His Excellency Mr. Carlos Amorín (Uruguay) as Chair of the Fifth Committee at the seventy-fifth session of the General Assembly and to elect Mr. Jakub Chmielewski (Poland), Ms. Armagan Ayse Can Crabtree (Turkey) and Mr. Katlego Boase Mmalane (Botswana) as Vice-Chairs of the Committee and Mr. Terrence Teo (Singapore) as the Rapporteur of the Committee at the seventy-fifth session, under silence procedure until 11 June 2020, at 4 p.m., in accordance with General Assembly decision 74/555 of 15 May 2020 entitled "Extension of the procedure for taking decisions of the General Assembly during the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic", as well as taking into account the provisions of General Assembly decision 74/557 of 29 May 2020 entitled "Procedure for holding elections by secret ballot without a plenary meeting during the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic".

It is my pleasure to inform you that the silence procedure has concluded without objections. Accordingly, the decision is considered adopted by the Fifth Committee of the General Assembly and is in effect from 4:01p.m. today, Thursday, 11 June 2020.

I avail of this opportunity to express my solidarity with States who are fighting COVID-19 and extend my sincere condolences for their loss.

Please accept, Excellency, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Andreas D. Mavroyiannis Chairman of the Administrative and Budgetary (Fifth) Committee Seventy-fourth session of the General Assembly

All Permanent Representatives and
Permanent Observers to the United Nations
New York