Elections and Appointments

Election of the Human Rights Council (13 October 2020)

The General Assembly elected the following 15 members:

Bolivia, China, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, France, Gabon, Malawi, Mexico, Nepal, Pakistan,
Russian Federation, Senegal, Ukraine, United Kingdom and Uzbekistan.

All 15 members will serve three-year terms beginning on 1 January 2021.

In accordance with paragraph 7 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, the Council shall consist of 47 Member States, which shall be elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly.

The membership shall be based on equitable geographical distribution, and seats shall be distributed as follows among regional groups:

The members of the Council shall serve for a period of three years and shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms.

In accordance with paragraphs 4 of General Assembly resolution 65/281 from 2013, the Human Rights Council starts its yearly membership cycle on 1 January.

Member States who have chosen to announce their candidacies in writing are listed below. Voluntary pledges that Member States have chosen to provide in support of their respective candidacies, in accordance with paragraph 8 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, are issued as General Assembly documents in all official languages. For more information, read the FAQ.


Candidates to the election

African States
(4 vacant seats)
Asia-Pacific States
(4 vacant seats)
Eastern European States
(2 vacant seats)
Latin American & Caribbean States
(3 vacant seats)
Western European & other States
(2 vacant seats)
Côte d'Ivoire
Russian Federation
Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
Gabon Nepal
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Senegal Saudi Arabia

List of current members

Members outlined in bold will retire on 31 December 2020.

African States Asia-Pacific States Eastern European States Latin American &
Caribbean States 
Western European
& other States
Angola (2020) Afghanistan
Bulgaria (2021) Argentina (2021) Australia (2020)
Burkina Faso (2021) Bahrain (2021) Czech Republic (2021) Bahamas (2021) Austria (2021)
Cameroon (2021) Bangladesh (2021) Slovakia (2020) Chile (2020) Denmark (2021)
Democratic Republic of the Congo (2020) Fiji (2021) Ukraine (2020) Mexico (2020) Italy (2021)
Eritrea (2021) India (2021)   Peru (2020) Spain (2020)
Nigeria (2020)
Nepal (2020)   Uruguay (2021)  
Senegal (2020) Pakistan (2020)      
Somalia (2021) Philippines (2021)      
Togo (2021) Qatar (2020)      

Quick Links

Key Documents