Election of the Bureau of the Commission on the Status of Women

At its 37th plenary meeting, on 24 July 2002, the Economic and Social Council, in order to improve the work of the Commission on the Status of Women and to ensure continuity in the work of its successive Bureaux, decided:

(a) That the terms of office of the members of the Commission will be for four regular sessions of the Commission, to begin immediately after the conclusion of work of the Commission's regular session held after 1 January, following their election by the Council, and to end at the conclusion of the regular session held after 1 January, following the election of the States that are to succeed them as members of the Commission, unless they are re-elected;

(b) To extend the terms of office of those members of the Commission whose terms are to expire:

(i) On 31 December 2002, until the conclusion of the forty-seventh session of the Commission;

(ii) On 31 December 2003, until the conclusion of the fortyeighth session of the Commission;

(iii) On 31 December 2004, until the conclusion of the fortyninth session of the Commission;

(c) That, starting with the forty-seventh session in 2003, the Commission, immediately following the closure of a regular session, will hold the first meeting of its subsequent regular session for the sole purpose of electing the new Chairperson and other members of the Bureau, in accordance with rule 15 of the rules of procedure of the functional Commissions of the Council;

(d) That, in this context, the provisions of General Assembly resolution 1798 (XVII) of 11 December 1962 will apply only to the substantive part of the sessions of the Commission.