

# **General Assembly**

Distr. GENERAL

A/CONF.211/7 23 April 2009

Original: ENGLISH

DURBAN REVIEW CONFERENCE Geneva, 20-24 April 2009 Agenda item 6

## CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE CONFERENCE

### **Report of the Credentials Committee**

#### Chairperson: Mr. O. Rhee Hetanang (Botswana)

1. Rule 4 of the rules of procedure of the Durban Review Conference provides that:

A Credentials Committee of nine members shall be appointed at the beginning of the Review Conference. Its composition shall be based on that of the Credentials Committee of the General Assembly of the United Nations at its sixty-third session. It shall examine the credentials of representatives and report to the Review Conference without delay.

2. At its 1st plenary meeting, on 20 April 2009, the Durban Review Conference, in accordance with rule 4 of its rules of procedure, appointed a Credentials Committee having the same composition as that of the Credentials Committee of the General Assembly at its sixty-third session, namely: Botswana, China, Cyprus, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mozambique, the Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and the United States of America.

3. The Credentials Committee held one meeting, on 22 April 2009.

4. Mr. O. Rhee Hetanang (Botswana) was unanimously elected Chairperson.

5. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretariat of the Conference dated 22 April 2009 on the credentials of representatives of States and of the African Union and the European Community to the Conference. A representative of the Office of Legal Affairs of the

United Nations Secretariat made a statement relating to the memorandum by the Secretariat of the Conference, in which, inter alia, he updated the memorandum to indicate credentials and communications received subsequent to its preparation.

6. As noted in paragraph 1 of the memorandum and in the statement relating thereto, formal credentials of representatives to the Conference, in the form required by rule 3 of the rules of procedure of the Conference, had been received as of the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee from the following 58 States: Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Austria, Azerbaijan, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Botswana, Cameroon, Chile, China, Congo, Cyprus, Ecuador, Eritrea, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Holy See, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Liechtenstein, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Oman, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, and Zambia.

7. As noted in paragraph 2 of the memorandum and in the statement relating thereto, information concerning the appointment of representatives of States to the Conference had been communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference as of the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee, by means of a cable or a telefax from the Head of State or Government or the Minister of Foreign Affairs, or by means of a letter or note verbale from the mission concerned, by the following 90 States, and the African Union and the European Community: Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Chad, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Guinea, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Monaco, Mozambique, Netherlands<sup>1</sup>, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, Rwanda, Senegal, Serbia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sudan, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Timor-Leste, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Yemen, Vietnam and Zimbabwe.

8. As noted in paragraph 3 of the memorandum and in the statement relating thereto, the following 47 States had not, as of the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee, formally communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference any information regarding their representatives to the Conference: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Burundi, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros, Cook Islands, Dominica, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Israel, Italy, Kiribati, Liberia, Malawi, Marshall Islands,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Government of the Netherlands by way of a second communication subsequently indicated that it had decided not to participate in the Durban Review Conference.

A/CONF.211/7 page 3

Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Tajikistan, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United States of America and Vanuatu.

9. The Committee decided to accept the credentials of the representatives of all States listed in the above-mentioned memorandum and the statement relating thereto and the African Union and the European Community, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the States referred to in paragraphs 7 and 8 of the present report would be communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference as soon as possible.

10. The Committee adopted the following draft resolution without a vote:

The Credentials Committee,

*Having examined* the credentials of the representatives to the Durban Review Conference referred to in the memorandum of the Secretariat of the Conference dated 22 April 2009,

Taking into account the statements made during the debate,

*Accepts* the credentials of the representatives of the States concerned, the African Union and of the European Community referred to in the above-mentioned memorandum.

11. The Committee decided, without a vote, to recommend to the Conference the adoption of a draft resolution (see para.13 below).

12. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the Conference.

#### **Recommendation of the Credentials Committee**

13. The Credentials Committee recommends to the Conference the adoption of the following draft resolution:

#### Credentials of representatives to the Durban Review Conference

The Durban Review Conference,

*Having considered* the report of the Credentials Committee and the recommendation contained therein,

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.

- - - - -