African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM)

The African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) External Link was established in 2003 as a self-monitoring initiative to promote good governance in Africa and has contributed to the attainment of the goals of NEPAD External Link and the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).  It is a mutually agreed instrument voluntary acceded to by African Union (AU) External Link Member States with the aim of fostering the adoption of policies, standards and practices leading to political stability, high economic growth, sustainable development and accelerated regional and economic integration.

Logo of the African Peer Review Mechanism

The objective is achieved by sharing experiences and reinforcing good practices, including identifying deficiencies and assessing the capacity building needs of participating countries. The APRM promotes peer learning and sharing through constructive dialogue and persuasion.

The APRM assessment is conducted within the framework of agreed values, codes and standards enshrined in the AU declaration on democracy, political, economic and corporate governance under substantive four areas:

  • democracy and political governance;
  • economic governance and management;
  • corporate governance; and
  • socio-economic development.

As of January 2015, 35 countries have voluntarily acceded to APRM and 17 more have been peer reviewed.

Recent Meetings


"The APRM has deepened a democratic political culture among African governments. It has fostered more principled leadership and constructive national dialogue. And the peer review process has opened up greater space for citizens to participate in the decisions affecting them[...]. The goal, of course, is for all countries in Africa to face this scrutiny, by themselves and by others. The United Nations remains committed to supporting the APRM[...]."

-- UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon