The Bureau of the Economic and Social Council is elected by the Council at large in July. The Bureau's main functions are to propose the agenda, draw up a programme of work and organize the session with the support of the United Nations Secretariat.

Bureau members for 2017 cycle:

President of ECOSOC: H.E. Ambassador Frederick Makamure Shava (Republic of Zimbabwe)

Vice-President of ECOSOC: H.E. Ambassador Marie Chatardova (Czech Republic)

Vice-President of ECOSOC: H. E. Ambassador Cristián Barros Melet (Chile)

Vice-President of ECOSOC: H.E. Ambassador Jürgen Schulz (Germany)

Vice-President of ECOSOC: H.E. Mr. Nabeel Munir (Pakistan)