LIST OF SPEAKERS

MIGRATION AND REFUGEE EVENT

30 September, 1500 HRS, CR4

All participants are requested to be at their seats by 2:55 pm. The event will start at 3 pm sharp.

Speakers are reminded that their statements will be strictly limited to three minutes.

PANEL DISCUSSION

15:00

Welcoming remarks

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Mr. António Guterres,

Panelists

Secretary-General of the United Nation, H.E. Mr. BAN Ki-moon (Chair)

Prime Minister of Turkey, H.E. Mr. Ahmet Davutoğlu

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Germany, H.E. Mr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier

Minister for Foreign Affairs of Indonesia, H.E. Mrs. Retno Lestari Priansari, Marsudi

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Mexico, H.E. Ms. Claudia Ruiz Massieu Salinas

Concluding thoughts

United Nations Special Representative of the Secretary-General for International Migration, Mr. Peter Sutherland

GENERAL DEBATE

15:25

President of Austria, H.E. Mr. Heinz Fischer

Prime Minister of Greece, H.E. Mr. Alexios Tsipras

Prime Minister of Hungary, H.E. Mr. Viktor Orbán

Prime Minister of Norway, H.E. Ms. Erna Solberg

Prime Minister of Malta, H.E. Mr. Joseph Muscat

Minister of Foreign Affairs of France, H.E. Mr. Laurent Fabius

Prime Minister of the Republic of Iceland, H.E. Mr. Sigmundur Davið Gunnlaugsson

Prime Minister of Slovenia, H.E. Mr. Miro Cerar

Prime Minister of Sweden, H.E. Mr. Stefan Löfven

United States Secretary of State H.E. Mr. John Kerry

16:05

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Belgium, H.E. Mr. Didier Reynders

First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Croatia, H.E. Mrs. Vesna Pusić

Vice Prime Minister and Minister of the Interior of Israel, H.E. Mr. Silvan Shalom Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Serbia H.E. Mr. Ivica Dacic Minister for Foreign Affairs of Bulgaria, H.E. Mr. Daniel Mitov Minister for Foreign Affairs of Colombia, H.E. María Ángela Holguín Cuéllar Minister for Foreign Affairs of Czech Republic, H.E. Mr. Lubomír Zaorálek Minister for Foreign Affairs of Denmark, H.E. Mr. Kristian Jensen

16:35

Minister for Foreign Affairs of Egypt, H.E. Mr. Sameh Hassan Shokry Selim Minister for Foreign Affairs of Finland, H.E. Mr. Timo Soini Minister for Foreign Affairs of Italy, H.E. Mr. Paolo Gentiloni Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan, H.E. Mr. Fumio Kishida Minister for Foreign Affairs of Korea, H.E. Mr. Mr. Yun Byung-se Minister for Foreign Affairs of Luxembourg, H.E. Mr. Jean Asselborn Minister for Foreign Affairs of Madagascar, H.E. Ms. Onitiana REALY Minister for Foreign Affairs of Niger, H.E. Ms. Aichatou Boulama Kane Minister for Foreign Affairs of Spain, H.E. Mr. José Manuel García Margallo

17:05

Minister for Foreign Affairs of Switzerland, H.E. Mr. Didier Burkhalter Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Togo, H.E. Mr. Robert Dussey Minister for Foreign Affairs of Tunisia, H.E. Mr. Taieb Baccouche Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Azerbaijan, H.E. Mr. Elmar Mammadyarov Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, H.E. Ms. Delcy Eloína Rodríguez Gómez

Minister for External Relations of Brazil H.E. Mr. Mauro Vieira

Minister for Foreign Affairs of the former Yugoslavia Republic of Macedonia, H.E. Mr. Nikola Poposki

Minister for Foreign Affairs of Guatemala, H.E. Mr. Carlos Raul Morales

Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Belarus, H.E. Mr. Valentin Rybakov

Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Georgia, H.E. Mr. David Dondua

17:35

Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Honduras, H.E. Ms. Maria del Carmen Nasser

Senior Associate Deputy Minister of Canada, H.E. Mr. Peter Boehm

Assistant Foreign Minister for Political Affairs of the United Arab Emirates, H.E. Mr. Ahmed Al Jarman

Director General, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Pakistan, Mr. Asim Iftikhar

Ambassador for People Smuggling Issues of Australia, H.E. Mr. Andrew Goledzinowski

Permanent Representative of Myanmar to the United Nations, H.E. Mr. Kyaw Tin

Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom to the United Nations, H.E. Mr. Matthew Rycroft, CBE

Deputy Permanent Representative of Syria to the United Nations, Mr. Mounzer Mounzer

IFRC Vice President & President of the Italian Red Cross Mr. Francesco Rocca

Secretary-General for the Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean Ambassador Sergio Piazzi

International Organization of la Francophonie

International Council of Voluntary Agencies

CONCLUDING SEGMENT

17:50

President of the General Assembly, H.E. Mr. Mogens Lykketoft President of the Social and Economic Council, H.E. Mr. Oh Joon Concluding remarks by the Deputy Secretary-General, Mr. Jan Eliasson

DISCUSSANTS

In order to enrich the discussions, a number of Discussants will be called upon at different points during the General Debate to inform the meeting on specific perspectives.

To discuss the European regional perspective (15:50)

H. E. High Representative Federica Mogherini, Vice President of the European Commission

To discuss the humanitarian perspective (15:55)

H.E. Mr. Oldemiro Júlio Marques Balói, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Mozambique

To discuss the development perspective (16:30)

H.E. Mr. Shahidul Haque, Foreign Secretary, Bangladesh

To discuss the South East Asian regional perspective (17:00)

H.E. Mr. Le Luong Minh, Secretary-General of ASEAN

To discuss the African regional perspective (17:10)

Dr Mustapha Sidiki Kaloko, Commissioner for Social Affairs of the African Union

To discuss the Arab regional perspective (17:40)

H.E. Dr. Badre Eddine Allali, Under-Secretary-General for Social Affairs of the League of Arab States

To discuss specific operational issues

Ambassador William Lacy Swing, Director-General of the International Organization for Migration

Mr. Zeid Ra'ad Al Hussein, High Commissioner for Human Rights

Mr. Stephen O'Brien Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs

Mr. Yury Fedotov, Executive Director of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime

Dr. Babatunde Osotimehin, Executive Director of the United Nations Population Fund