Members of the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues 2017-2019

A view of participants in the General Assembly Hall during the opening ceremony of the Fifteenth Session of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues.

Opening Ceremony of Fifteenth Session UN Indigenous Forum

The term begins on 1 January 2017 and concludes on 31 December 2019.

According to the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) Resolution 2000/22, the Permanent Forum consists of “…eight members to be nominated by Governments and elected by the Council, and eight members to be appointed by the President of the Council following formal consultation with the Bureau and the regional groups through their coordinators, on the basis of broad consultations with indigenous organizations, taking into account the diversity and geographical distribution of the indigenous people of the world as well as the principles of transparency, representativity and equal opportunity for all indigenous people, including internal processes, when appropriate, and local indigenous consultation processes…”

The Members of the Permanent Forum 2017-2019 are:

Ms. Ann Nuorgam (Finland)
Ms. Aisa Mukabenova (Russian Federation)
Mr. Brian Keane (United States of America)
Mr. Dimitri Zaitcev (Russian Federation)
Mr. Elifuraha Laltaika (United Republic of Tanzania)
Mr. Gervais Nzoa (Cameroon)
Mr. Jens Dahl (Denmark)
Mr. Jesus Guadalupe Fuentes Blanco (Mexico)
Mr. Les Malezer (Australia)
Ms. Lourdes Tibán Guala (Ecuador)
Ms. Mariam Wallet Aboubakrine (Mali)
Mr. Phoolman Chaudhary (Nepal)
Mr. Seyed Moshen Emadi (Iran)
Ms. Tarcila Rivera Zea (Peru)
Ms. Terri Henry (United States of America)