The Handbook was jointly prepared by the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UN-DESA), the Offi ce of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU).

Principal authors: Andrew Byrnes (University of New South Wales, Australia), Alex Conte (University of Southampton, United Kingdom), Jean-Pierre Gonnot (UN-DESA), Linda Larsson (UN-DESA), Thomas Schindlmayr (UN-DESA), Nicola Shepherd (UN-DESA), Simon Walker (OHCHR), and Adriana Zarraluqui (OHCHR).

Other contributors: Graham Edwards (Member of Parliament, Australia), Anda Filip (IPU), Anders B. Johnsson (IPU), Axel Leblois (Global Initiative for Inclusive ICTs), Janet Lord (BlueLaw LLP), Alessandro Motter (IPU), James Mwandha (former Member of Parliament, Uganda), Kaj Nordquist (former Member of Parliament, Sweden), Mona Pare (Carleton University, Canada), and Hendrietta Bogopane-Zulu (Member of Parliament, South Africa).

In addition, Inclusion International, the International Labour Organization (ILO), the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), the United Nations Educational, Scientifi c and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the World Bank, and the World Health Organization (WHO) provided initial guidance and comments on the text.

Editorial consultant: Marilyn Achiron

Design and layout: Kal Honey, Eye-to-Eye Design (Brampton, Canada)

Printing: SRO-Kundig (Geneva, Switzerland)

Next – Foreword

Back to Content