~ Fellowship Host Institutions ~

Below is the list of universities and institutions which have confirmed their participation in the United Nations - The Nippon Foundation of Japan Fellowship Programme. DOALOS is currently holding discussions with numerous other universities and institutions, and this list will be periodically updated as new arrangements are finalized.

Note that DOALOS reserves the right to place Fellows with the most appropriate Host Institution based on a Fellow's proposed research and study programme, the Institution's corresponding areas of expertise and their availability, as well as other factors including visa requirements and placement scheduling. Applicants should not contact, or apply directly to, Host Institutions for United Nations - Nippon Fellowship placements.

Phase 1 Institution

Selected Fellows are to carry out their first placement at the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea, Office of Legal Affairs, United Nations Secretariat (New York, U.S.A.), or as otherwise determined by the Programme.


Phase 2 Institutions

Selected Fellows are to carry out specialized research and studies for a 6 month period at one of the following universities or research institutions:

·        Ankara University Research Center of the Sea and Maritime Law

·        Australian National Centre for Ocean Resources and Security (ANCORS), University of Wollongong (Wollongong, Australia)

·        Cardiff University, School of Law and Politics, (Cardiff, U.K.)

·        Centre de Droit Maritime et Océanique, Université de Nantes (Nantes, France)

·         Centre for International Peace and Security Studies (CIPSS) / Centre d’études sur la paix et la sécurité internationale (CEPSI),
l’Université de Montréal and McGill University (Montréal, Canada)

·        Centre for Resource Management and Environmental Studies (CRMES), University of West Indies (Cave Hill Campus, Barbados)

·        Centro de Estudos do Mar of the Universidade Federal do Parana in cooperation with the
International Ocean Institute - South Western Atlantic Ocean (Parana, Brazil)

·        Centre d'Etudes et de Récherches sur le Droit des Activités Maritimes et l'Environnement (CERDAME),
Institut du Droit et de la Paix et du D
, Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis (Nice, France)

·        Centre for Oceans Law and Policy, University of Virginia (Charlottesville, U.S.A.)

·        Coastal Resources Center, Graduate School of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island

·        Columbia Law School, Columbia University (New York, U.S.A.)

·        Department of Public, Civil Procedure, International and European Law of the University of Milan (Milan, Italy)

·        Edinburgh Centre for International and Global Law, Edinburgh University (Edinburgh, U.K.)

·        Facultat de Nàutica de Barcelona, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Barcelona, Spain)

·         Faculty of Law, The University of New South Wales (Sydney, Australia)

·        Fisheries Department, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (Rome, Italy)

·        Gerard J. Mangone Center for Marine Policy, University of Delaware (Newark, U.S.A.)

·        Graduate Program in Marine Affairs, Department of Marine Affairs, University of Rhode Island (Kingston, U.S.A.)

·        Indonesian Center for the Law of the Sea (ICLOS), Padjadjaran University (Bandung, Indonesia)

·        Institute of Maritime Law, University of Southampton (Southampton , U.K.)

·        Instituto de Estudios Internacionales, Universidad de Chile (Santiago, Chile)

·        International Labour Organization (Geneva, Switzerland)

·        International Maritime Organization (London, U.K.)

·        International Seabed Authority (Kingston, Jamaica)

·        International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (Hamburg, Germany)

·         Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine EcologyZMT (Bremen, Germany)

·        Marine and Environmental Law Institute, Dalhousie University in partnership with the 
International Ocean Institute-Canada (Halifax, Canada)

·        Marine Affairs Programme, Dalhousie University (Halifax, Canada) in partnership with the 
International Ocean Institute-Canada (Halifax, Canada)

·        Marine and Shipping Law Unit, University of Queensland (Brisbane, Australia)

·        Marine Law and Ocean Policy Centre, National University of Ireland (Galway, Ireland)

·        Marine Law and Policy Research Centre, Istanbul Bilgi University (Istanbul, Turkey)

·        Maritime Institute, University of Ghent (Ghent, Belgium)

·        Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, (Heidelberg, Germany)
           Note ?   fellowship subject to university admittance committee approval  

·        Melbourne University Law School (Victoria, Australia)

·        National Oceanography Centre (NERC), (Southampton, U.K.)

·        Nelson Mandela University South African Research Chair in the Law of the Sea and Development in Africa, Port Elizabeth, South Africa 

·        Netherlands Institute for the Law of the Sea, Utrecht University School of Law (Utrecht, The Netherlands)

·        NOVA University, School of Law, (Lisbon, Portugal)

·        Ocean and Coastal Law Center, University of Oregon School of Law (Eugene, U.S.A.)

·        Oklahoma University Law of the Sea Fellowship, University of Oklahoma (Norman, U.S.A.)

·        Ostseeinstitut für Seerecht und Umweltrecht, Universität Rostock (Rostock, Germany)

·        Rhodes Academy of Ocean Law and Policy (Rhodes, Greece)
           Note ?   fellowship subject to academy committee approval
                   ?   3 week course is to be completed in conjunction with an additional 2 to 5 month fellowship with another participating university.

·        Saint Mary's University (Halifax, Canada)

·        Strathclyde Centre for Environmental Law and Governance (SELG), University of Strathclyde (Glasgow, Scotland)

·        Sydney Law School, University of Sydney (Sydney, Australia)

·        School for the Environment, University of Massachusetts Boston (Boston, U.S.A.)

·        School of Tropical Studies and Geography, James Cook University (Townsville, Australia)

·        Tulane Maritime Law Center, Tulane University (New Orleans, U.S.A.)

·        University of Milano Bicocca (Milano, Italy) : Dipartimento di Giurisprudenza and Dipartimento di Scienze dell’Ambiente e della Terra "Marine Sciences Programme

·        United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP office to be confirmed according to Fellow's research topic)

·         University of Tromso (Tromso, Norway)

·        Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (Woods Hole, MA, )

·        World Maritime University (Malmo, Sweden)


Interested in becoming a Fellowship Programme Host Institution? contact us


The use of this web site constitutes agreement with the terms and conditions of use of
United Nations web sites.

Prepared by the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea, Office of Legal Affairs, United Nations.

Oceans and Law of the Sea Home Page

United Nations Home Page

Search Oceans and Law of the Sea site

Comments and suggestions?

Mail to DOALOS

Copyright © 2007 United Nations