page 1| Delimitation Treaties Infobase | accessed on 24/06/2002

Treaty Regarding the Delimitation of the Maritime Boundary between the Republic of Equatorial Guinea and the Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe, 26 June 1999

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea and the Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe, desiring to strengthen the ties of friendship and good relations that exist between the two States and peoples;

Taking into account the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982 and the relevant principles of general international law;

Recognizing the need to determine exactly the delimitation of the maritime boundary between the two States in an equitable manner using equidistance as the general criterion for delimitation;

The Parties decide to conclude this Treaty for that purpose,

And have appointed as their Plenipotentiaries:

For the Republic of Equatorial Guinea:

His Excellency Mr. Miguel Oyone Ndong Mifumu,

Deputy Prime Minister in charge of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation,

For the Republic of Sao Tome and Principe:

His Excellency Mr. Alberto Paulino,

Minister for Foreign Affairs and Communities,

Who, having communicated to each other their full powers found to be in good and due form, have agreed on the following:

Article 1

The purpose of this Treaty is to recognize the maritime boundary between the Republic of Equatorial Guinea and the Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe.

Article 2

The maritime boundary between the Republic of Equatorial Guinea and the Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe established by this Treaty shall be defined by the geodesic lines joining the following coordinates:

(a)	Between the Republic of Equatorial Guinea (Annobón Island) and the Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and				
Principe (Sao Tome Island)					
Point No.	Latitude	Longitude			
1	1°29'04"S	7°16'30"E			
2	0°47'15.8"S	6°11'30.7"E			
3	0°12'54"S	5°19'23"E			
4	0°41'45.3"N	3°37′03.2″E			
5	0°54'59.5"N	3°12'32.95"E			
(b)	Between the Republic of Equatorial Guinea (Bioco Island - Rio Muni) and the Democratic Republic of Sao				
Tome and Principe (islands of Sao Tome and Principe)					
Point No.	Latitude	Longitude			

1	0°37'25"N	8°11'42"E
2	1°00'15"N	8°18'10"E
3	1°11'32.65"N	8°21'38.75"E
4	1°17'48"N	8°22'48"E
5	1°24'14"N	8°24'08"E
6	1°38'45"N	8°27'58"E
7	1°49'10"N	8°30'15"E
8	1°54'45"N	8°31'15"E

DOALOS/OLA - UNITED NATIONS

page 2| Delimitation Treaties Infobase | accessed on 24/06/2002

9	2°04'01.6"N	8°33'00.5"E
10	2°12'48"N	8°21'57"E
11	2°25'32"N	8°02'40"E
12	2°31'35.3"N	7°53'20.4"E
13	2°38'34"N	7°42'13"E
14	2°50'00"N	7°25'52"E
15	3°02'31.75"N	7°07'17.45"E

Article 3

The geodesic points defined in article 2 shall be established in reference to the World Geodesic System 1984.

Article 4

Neither State will claim or exercise sovereign rights or have jurisdiction over the waters, seabed and subsoil or airspace on the side of the maritime boundary belonging to the other Party as established under article 2 of this Treaty.

Article 5

This treaty shall enter into force provisionally upon signature and definitively on the date on which the Parties have communicated to each other the instruments of ratification.

DONE at Malabo on 26 June 1999 in two (2) original versions, each one in Spanish and Portuguese, both texts having equal authority.

For the Republic of Equatorial Guinea: [Signature] For the Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe: [Signature]