Decree-Law, 21 July 1973

I.

The baseline, established in the Act of 22 Farvardin 1338 (12 April 1959) amending the Act of 24 Tir 1313 (15 July 1934) concerning the limits of the territorial waters and the contiguous zone of Iran, is determined as follows:

- Straight lines joining the following points: A.
- (1) Point 1, situated at the point where the thalweg of the Shatt/El-Arab intersects the straight line joining the two banks of the mouth of the Shatt El-Arab at the low-water line.
- (2) Point 2, situated at the mouth of the Behregan, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 29°59'50" N and longitude 49°33'55" E.
- (3) Point 3, situated on the south coast of Kharg Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 29°12'29" N and longitude 50°18'40" E.
- (4) Point 4, situated on the south coast of Nakhilu Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 27°50'40" N and longitude 51°27'15" E.
- (5) Point 5, situated on Lavan Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 26°47'25" N and longitude 53°13'00" E.
- (6) Point 6, situated on the south-west coast of Kish Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 26°30'55" N and longitude 53°55'10" E.
- (7) Point 7, situated on the south-east coast of Kish Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 26°30'10" N and longitude 53°59'20" E.
- (8) Point 8, situated at Ras-o-Shenas, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 26°29'35" N and longitude 54°47'20"E.
- (9) Point 9, situated on the south-west coast of Qeshm Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 26°32'25" N and longitude 55°60'55" E.
- (10) Point 10, situated on the south coast of Hengam Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 26°36'40" N and longitude 55°51'50" E.
- (11) Point 11, situated on the south coast of Larak Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 26°49'30" N and longitude 56°21'50" E.
- (12) Point 12, situated on the east coast of Larak Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 26°51'15" N and longitude 56°24'05" E.
- (13) Point 13, situated on the east coast of Hormoz Island, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude



27°02'30" N and longitude 56°29'40" E.

- (14) Point 14, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 27°08'30" N and longigude 56°35'40" E.
- (15) Point 15, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°47'10" N and longitude 57°19'55" E.
- (16) Point 16, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°38'10" N and longitude 57°45'30" E.
- (17) Point 17, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°33'20" N and longitude 58°05'20" E.
- (18) Point 18, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°24'05" N and longitude 59°05'40" E.
- (19) Point 19, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°23'45" N and longitude 59°35'00" E.
- (20) Point 20, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°19'20" N and longitude 60°12'10" E.
- (21) Point 21, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°17'25" N and longitude 60°24'50" E.
- (22) Point 22, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°16'36" N and longitude 60°27'30" E.
- (23) Point 23, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°16'20" N and longitude 60°36'40" E.
- (24) Point 24, whose geographical co-ordinates are: latitude 25°03'30" N and longitude 61°25'00" E.
- (25) Point 25, situated at the point of intersection of the meridian 61°37'03" E and the straight line joining the shorelines at the entrance of the Gwadar Gulf at the low-water line.
- Between points 6 and 7, situated on Kish Island, points 11 and 12, situated on Larak Island, and points 14 and 15, situated in the Strait of Hormuz, the low-water line shall constitute the baseline.

II.

The baseline used for measuring the breadth of the territorial sea of Iran is shown on the Map of the Persian Gulf, the first edition of which was published in Shahrivar 1349 (September 1970) by the National Geographical Organization of Iran, on a scale of 1:1,500,000, and is attached to the present Decree. The original of the Decree is kept in the Office of the President of the Council of Ministers.

