The United Nations Secretariat, agencies, funds and programmes, and affiliated organizations contribute to the implementation of the United Nations Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy both through their individual mandates and through their membership in the Counter-Terrorism Implementation Task Force.

The Task Force consists of 38 international entities and INTERPOL which by virtue of their work have a stake in multilateral counter-terrorism efforts. Each entity makes contributions consistent with its own mandate. A recent compilation of activities undertaken by CTITF entities in implementing the Strategy was issued in the report of the Secretary-General in June 2014.

The members of the task forces are:

  1. Al Qaida/Taliban Monitoring Team
  2. Counter-terrorism Committee Executive Directorate (CTED)
  3. Department of Peacekeeping Operations (DPKO)
  4. Department of Political Affairs (DPA)
  5. Department of Public Information (DPI)
  6. Department of Safety and Security (DSS)
  7. Group of Experts of 1540 Committee
  8. International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
  9. International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)
  10. International Maritime Organization (IMO)
  11. International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  12. International Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL)
  13. Office for Disarmament Affairs (ODA)
  14. Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
  15. Office of Legal Affairs (OLA)
  16. Office of the Secretary-General (OSG)
  17. Office of The Special Adviser on The Prevention of Genocide
  18. Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Children and Armed Conflict (CAC)
  19. Office of the Secretary-General's Envoy on Youth
  20. Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)
  21. Special Rapporteur on the promotion and protection of human rights while countering terrorism
  22. United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
  23. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
  24. United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI)
  25. United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
  26. United Nations Office of the Special Adviser on Africa (OSAA)
  27. United Nations Rule of Law Unit
  28. UN Women
  29. United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)
  30. World Customs Organization (WCO)
  31. World Bank
  32. World Health Organization (WHO)


  1. International Organization for Migration (IOM)
  2. Office of the Coordinator for Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)
  3. United Nations Department for Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)
  4. United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
  5. United Nations Alliance of Civilizations (UNAOC)