The United Nations Secretariat, agencies, funds and programmes, and affiliated organizations contribute to the implementation of the United Nations Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy both through their individual mandates and through their membership in the Counter-Terrorism Implementation Task Force (CTITF).

Consisting of 37 international entities and INTERPOL, the primary goal of CTITF is to maximize each entity‘s comparative advantage by delivering as one to help Member States implement the four pillars of the Global Strategy. CTITF organizes its work through Working Groups and counter-terrorism related projects in areas where cooperation among United Nations system actors can add value for the implementation of the Strategy.

There are currently 11 thematic working groups in place:

  1. Border Management & Law Enforcement Relating To Counter-Terrorism
  2. Conditions Conducive To The Spread Of Terrorism
  3. Countering The Financing Of Terrorism
  4. Foreign Terrorist Fighters
  5. National & Regional Counter-Terrorism Strategies
  6. Preventing & Responding To WMD Terrorist Attacks
  7. Preventing Violent Extremism
  8. Promoting And Protecting Human Rights & The Rule Of Law While Countering Terrorism
  9. Protection Of Critical Infrastructure Including Internet, Vulnerable Targets And Tourism Security
  10. Supporting & Highlighting Victims Of Terrorism
  11. Legal And Criminal Justice Responses To Counter Terrorism