## page 1| Delimitation Treaties Infobase | accessed on 18/03/2002

# Protocol between the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland amending the Agreement of 6 October 1965 relating to the delimitation of the continental shelf under the North Sea between the two countries, 25 November 1971

The Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands;

Having regard to the Agreement concluded between them on 6 October 1965 relating to the Delimitation of the Continental Shelf under the North Sea between their countries (hereinafter referred to as "the Agreement"); and

In view of the dividing line which, by the Agreement of 28 January 1971 between the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Federal Republic of Germany, was established between the Netherlands part and the German part of the continental shelf under the North Sea;

Have agreed as follows:

#### Article 1

Point No. 19 mentioned in article 1, paragraph 1, of the Agreement shall be cancelled and be superseded by a new point No. 19, the co-ordinates of which shall be: 55° 45′ 54″ N 03° 22′ 13″ E.

#### Article 2

Article 2, paragraph 2, of the Agreement shall be amended and shall read as follows:

"In the north the termination point of the dividing line shall be point No. 19, which is the point of intersection of the dividing lines between the continental shelves of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Federal Republic of Germany."

### Article 3

- (1) This Protocol shall be ratified. The instruments of ratification shall be exchanged at London.
- (2) This Protocol shall enter into force on the thirtieth day after the exchange of instruments of ratification.