Act No. 186 of 13 September 1967 on the Territorial Sea, Contiguous Zone, Exclusive Economic Zone and Continental Shelf

Article 1

The territorial sea of the Dominican Republic shall comprise the sea area adjacent to its coasts, and to the coasts of the islands over which the Dominican Republic exercises sovereignty, and extending from the low-water line or from the straight baselines, as the case may be, to a distance of six miles seawards.

Article 2

The bays of Manzanillo, comprising the coastal area lying between the median line of the mouth of the River Massacre or Dajabón and Punta Manzanillo; Rincón, between Cabo Cabrón and Cabo Samaná; Samaná, between Cabo Samaná and Cabo San Rafel; Yuma, between Punta Espada and Punta Aljibe; Andrés, between Punta Magdalena and Cabo Caucedo; Ocoa, between Punta Salinas and Punta Martín García; Neiba, between Punta Martín García and Punta Averena; and Aguilas, between Cabo Falso and Cabo Rojo, are bays according to the traditional geographical definition of the term, hence the waters lying within the straight lines joining the points which delimit them are internal waters and as such under the full sovereignty of the State.

Paragraph 1. The bay of Santo Domingo, comprising the coastal area between Punto Palenque and Cabo Caucedo, and the bay of Escocesa, between Cabo Francés Viejo and Cabo Cabrón, are declared to be historic bays. Accordingly, the waters lying within the straight baselines passing through the points which delimit them are internal waters and under the full sovereignty of the State.

Paragraph 2. The territorial waters adjacent to the bays of Santo Domingo and Escocesa and other bays and portions of internal waters shall be measured seawards from the straight baselines joining the points which delimit them.