Beijing +5
Women 2000:
Gender Equality, Development and Peace for the 21st Century


(as distributed for the meeting. Changes may have been made in the text when delivered. Press releases provide the texts of the statements in a summarized form. Statements may be viewed through the archived webcast and are also documented as verbatim records (identified by the suffix "/PV)).
Please note that the documents are in HTML and PDF formats.


Secretary-General Kofi Annan
(5 June 2000) (10 June 2000)
President of the General Assembly
(5 June 2000) (10 June 2000)

Chairperson of the Preparatory Committee
(5 June 2000)

Member States

Albania (French)
Algeria (French)
Andorra (French)
Angola (English)
Antigua and Barbuda (English)
Argentina (Spanish)
Armenia (English)
Australia (English)
Austria (English)
Azerbaijan (Russian) (English)
Bahamas (English)
Bahrain (Arabic)
Bangladesh (English)
Barbados (English)
Belarus (Russian) (English)
Belgium (French)
Belize (English)
Benin (French)
Bhutan (English)
Bolivia (Spanish) (English)
Bosnia and Herzegovina (English)
Bostwana (English)
Brazil (English)
Brunei Darussalam (English)
Bulgaria (English)
Burkina Faso (French)
Burundi (French)
Cambodia (English)
Cameroon (English)
Canada (French/English)
Central African Republic (French)
Chad (French)
Chile (English)
China (English)
Colombia (English)
Congo (French)
Costa Rica (Spanish)
Côte d'Ivoire (French)
Croatia (English)
Cuba (Spanish) (English)
Cyprus (English)
Czech Republic (English)
Democratic People's Republic of Korea (English)
Democratic Republic of the Congo (French)
Denmark (English)
Djibouti (French)
Dominica (English)
Dominican Republic (English)
Ecuador (Spanish) (English)
Egypt (English)
El Salvador (Spanish)
Equatorial Guinea (Spanish)
Eritrea (English)
Estonia (English)
Ethiopia (English)
Federated States of Micronesia (English)
Finland (English)
France (French)
Gabon (English)
Gambia (English)
Georgia (English)
Germany (English)
Ghana (English)
Greece (English)
Grenada (English)
Guatemala (English)
Guinea (French)
Guyana (English)
Haiti (French)
Honduras, Republic of (Spanish) (English)
Hungary (English)
Iceland (English)
India (English)
Indonesia (English)
Iran (Islamic Republic of) (English)
Iraq (Arabic) (English)
Ireland (English)
Israel (English)
Italy (English)
Jamaica (English)
Japan (English)
Jordan (English)
Kazakhstan (English)
Kenya (English)
Kuwait (Arabic) (English)
Kyrgystan (Russian) (English)
Lao People's Democratic Republic (English)
Lebanon (Arabic) (French)
Lesotho (English)
Liberia (English)
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya (Arabic) (English)
Liechtenstein (English)
Lithuania (English)
Luxembourg (French)
Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of (English)
Madagascar (French)
Malawi (English)
Malaysia (English)
Maldives (English)
Mali (French)
Malta (English)
Marshall Islands (English)
Mauritania (French) (Arabic)
Mauritius (English)
Mexico (Spanish) (English)
Micronesia (Federated States of) (English)
Monaco (French)
Mongolia (English)
Morocco (Arabic) (French)
Mozambique (English)
Myanmar (English)
Namibia (English)
Nauru (English)
Nepal (English)
Netherlands (English)
New Zealand (English)
Nicaragua (English)
Niger (French)
Nigeria (English)
Norway (English)
Oman (English)
Pakistan (English)
Panama (Spanish)
Papua New Guinea (English)
Paraguay (Spanish)
Peru (English) (Spanish)
Philippines (English)
Poland (English)
Portugal (English)
Qatar (Arabic) (English)
Republic of Korea (English)
Republic of Moldova (English)
Romania (English)
Russian Federation (English)
Rwanda (French)
Saint Kitts and Nevis (English)
Saint Lucia (English)
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (English)
Samoa (English)
San Marino (English)
Soa Tome and Principe (French)
Saudi Arabia (Arabic)
Senegal (French)
Seychelles (English)
Sierra Leone (English)
Singapore (English)
Slovakia (English)
Slovenia (English)
Solomon Islands (English)
South Africa (English)
Spain (Spanish)
Sri Lanka (English)
Sudan (Arabic)
Suriname (English)
Swaziland (English)
Sweden (English)
Syrian Arab Republic (Arabic) (English)
Tajikistan (Russian)
Tanzania (English)
Thailand (English)
Togo (French)
Trinidad and Tobago (English)
Tunisia (French)
Turkey (English)
Turkmenistan (English)
Uganda (English)
Ukraine (English)
United Arab Emirates (Arabic)
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (English)
United Republic of Tanzania (English)
United States of America (English)
Uruguay (Spanish)
Uzbekistan (English)
Vanuatu (English)
Venezuela (Spanish)
Viet Nam (English)
Yemen (Arabic)
Zambia (English)
Zimbabwe (English)

Observers and Heads of United Nations programmes, specialized agencies and other entities in the United Nations system

Arab Women (English)
African Development Bank (English)
Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (English)
Commonwealth Secretariat (English)
Cook Islands (English)
Council of Europe (English)
European Union (English)
Holy See (English)
Institute for the Advancement of Women
International Committee of the Red Cross (English)
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (English)
International Organization of la Francophonie (French)
International Organization for Migration (English)
International Union for the conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (English)
League of Arab States (Arabic)
Mahila Dakshata Samiti (English)
Organization of African Unity (English)
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (English)
Organization of the Islamic Conference (English)
Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (English)
Palestine (Arabic) (English)
Peruana "Flora Tristan"
Sovereign Military Order of Malta (English)
Switzerland (English) (French)
United Nations Development Fund for Women (English)
United Nations Development Programme (English)
United Nations Population Fund (English)
United Nations Children's Fund (English)
Women in Law and Development in Africa (English)