Opening session of the 49th session of Commission on the Status of Women Monday 28 February 2005 – 10.00 am – 1.00 pm General Assembly Hall

PROGRAMME

The programme will be held in two segments.

Segment 1: 10.00-10.45 a.m.

10.00 – 10.10 a.m.	Opening statement and introduction of the Secretary-General by the Chairperson of CSW, Ms. Kung-wha Kang
10.10-10.17 a.m.	Statement by the Secretary-General of the United Nations
10.17-10.22 a.m.	Acting President of the General Assembly
10.27-10.32 a.m.	President of ECOSOC
	Short break in programme
10.35-10.45	DPI Video

Segment 2: 10.45-1.00 p.m.

Adoption of the provisional agenda and programme of work

Statements by:

Under-Secretary-General, Mr. José Antonio Ocampo

H.E. Marta Sahagún, First Lady (Mexico)

Ms. Eva Kjer Hanson, Minister of Social Affairs and Gender Equality (Denmark)

Honourable Ochillo Ayacko, Minister of Gender, Sports, Culture and Social Services (Kenya)

Ms. Shaohua Zhao, Vice-Chairperson of All China Women's Federation (China)

Assistant-Secretary-General, Special Adviser to the Secretary-General on Gender Issues and Advancement of Women, Ms. Rachel Mayanja

Director, Division for the Advancement of Women, Ms. Carolyn Hannan

Executive Director of UNIFEM, Ms. Noleen Heyzer

Director of INSTRAW, Ms. Carmen Moreno

Chairperson of CEDAW Committee, Ms. Rosario Manolo (Philippines)

Chairperson of the Commission for Human Rights, H.E. Mr. Makarim Wibisono (Indonesia)