

Update on the work of the General Assembly – A Briefing for NGOs

THURSDAY, 7 FEBRUARY 2008 from 3:00 PM to 6:00 PM Trusteeship Council Chamber United Nations, New York

A Briefing by the Office of the President of the General Assembly featuring remarks by H.E. Dr. Srgjan Kerim, President of the General Assembly and by Permanent Representatives conducting consultations on various tracks of work of the General Assembly

3:00 PM to 4:00 PM

Remarks by H.E. Dr. Srgjan Kerim, President of the General Assembly, followed by a question and answer session.

4:00 PM to 5:15 PM

Remarks by Permanent Representatives conducting consultations on various tracks of work of the General Assembly.

• Financing for Development

H.E. Mr. Maged Abdelaziz

Permanent Representative of Egypt to the United Nations

H.E. Mr. Johan L. Løvald

Permanent Representative of Norway to the United Nations

• International Environmental Governance

H.E. Mr. Claude Heller

Permanent Representative of Mexico to the United Nations

H.E. Mr. Peter Maurer

Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the United Nations

• 2008 High Level Meeting on HIV/AIDS

H.E. Mr. Samuel O. Outlule

Permanent Representative of Botswana to the United Nations

H.E. Mrs. Tiina Intelmann

Permanent Representative of Estonia to the United Nations

• System-wide Coherence

H.E. Mr. John Paul Kavanagh

Permanent Representative of Ireland to the United Nations

H.E. Mr. Augustine P. Mahiga

Permanent Representative of Tanzania to the United Nations

• Mandate Review

H.E. Mr. Kaire Munionganda Mbuende

Permanent Representative of Namibia to the United Nations

H.E. Ms. Rosemary Banks

Permanent Representative of New Zealand to the United Nations

• Revitalization of the General Assembly

H.E. Mr. Eladio Loizaga

Permanent Representative of Paraguay to the United Nations

H.E. Mr. Andrzej Towpik

Permanent Representative of Poland to the United Nations

5:15 PM to 6 PM

Question and answer session.

Moderator

Ms. Shamina de Gonzaga, Special Adviser on NGO relations, Office of the President of the General Assembly