Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

Department of Political Affairs

Strengthening National Capacities for Conflict Prevention

Human Rights awareness

DPA actively participates in two interagency initiatives focused on helping Member States build their own capacities to manage conflict peacefully.

The Inter-Agency Framework for Coordination on Preventive Action (or Framework Team) — a forum of 22 agencies and departments connected informally at UN Headquarters and in the field—works closely with its member departments and agencies to assist UN Resident Coordinators (in most countries the most senior UN official on the ground) and UN Country Teams in developing integrated conflict prevention strategies, and identifying the political and technical resources required for their implementation. The Framework Team also supports a UN system-wide "community of practice" to improve and expand knowledge and skills in conflict prevention. In an innovative partnership between DPA and UNDP, the Joint UNDP-DPA Programme on Building National Capacities for Conflict Prevention provides support for national initiatives towards conflict prevention – often in support of the integrated prevention strategies catalyzed under Framework Team auspices. Much of the support to date has gone toward deploying "Peace and Development Advisers" – or PDAs as they are known – to UN Country Teams in the field to help national authorities. The Programme also provides seed funding to prevention initiatives overseen by the PDA.

While assistance is tailored to each situation, initiatives under the Framework Team and Joint Programme focuses on early engagement on potentially violent tensions, before violent conflict emerges or re-emerges. Countries that have received varying levels of support from the programme for national initiatives toward conflict prevention or the management of national stress or tensions, include: Guyana, Ecuador, Mauritania, the Maldives, The Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Lesotho, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Yemen, and Fiji.