*RealPlayer needed to view Video - Free Download Available HERE

Monday, 10th January 2005

Panel discussion 1: "The environment vulnerabilities of small island developing States"
Video - English
Video - Original -
Part 1, Part 2 , Part 3

The panel was co-chaired by H.E. The Hon. Tagaloa Tuala Sale Tagaloa, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment, Samoa , and H.E. The Hon. Marian Hobbs, Minister for the Environment and Associate Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Official Development Assistance), New Zealand ; and moderated by Mr. Klaus Töpfer, Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).

The following panellists made introductory statements: Mr. Rajendra K. Pachauri, Chairman, Inter-Governmental Panel on Climate Change; H.E. The Hon. Theophilus Ferguson John, Minister for Physical Development, Environment and Housing , Saint Lucia ; Mr. Salvano Briceño, Director, Inter-Agency Secretariat of the International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (ISDR); and Mr. Kenrick Leslie, Director, Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre, Belize .

The Co-Chairpersons and panellists held an interactive discussion on the topic with the representatives of Belize, Mauritius, Croatia, Guyana, the Marshall Islands, Maldives (read out a message from the President of the Republic of Maldives, H.E. Mr. Maumoon Abdul Gayoom), Egypt, Cape Verde, France, Comoros, the United States, Grenada, Iceland, Barbados, Indonesia, Kuwait and Tonga, as well as the representatives of the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity, the Global Environmental Facility (GEF), the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the International Narcotics Control Board (INCB) and CAB International.

The representatives of the following major groups also participated in the discussion: scientific and technological community; indigenous peoples and non-governmental organizations.

The panellists reacted to comments made by the participants.

The Co-Chairpersons summarized the points discussed.

Website Design: United Nations Website Section | Copyright United Nations January 2005