Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1988 (2011)

The Security Council Committee was established on 17 June 2011 pursuant to resolution 1988 (2011) to oversee the relevant sanctions measures and to undertake the tasks set out by the Security Council in paragraph 30 of the same resolution. The regime was subsequently extended by resolution 2082 (2012) and 2160 (2014). Paragraph 43 of resolution 2160 (2014) also renews the mandate of the Analytical Support and Sanctions Monitoring Team for a further period of 30 months. Furthermore, paragraph 13 of this resolution invites the Government of Afghanistan to submit for the Committee’s consideration the names of listed individuals for whom it confirms travel to specific locations is necessary to participate in meetings in support of peace and reconciliation.

The names of the designated individuals and entities are placed on the 1988 Sanctions List (the Consolidated United Nations Security Council Sanctions List can be found here). Narrative summaries of reasons for listing of the individuals, groups, undertakings and entities can be found at the following URL: (An unofficial translation of the 1988 Sanctions List and narrative summaries into Dari and Pashto can be found here).

Resolution 2160 (2014) has been adopted under Chapter VII of the United Nations Charter and requires all States to take the following measures in connection with any individual, group, undertaking and entity designated as or associated with the Taliban in constituting a threat to the peace, stability and security of Afghanistan, as designated by the Committee:

The current Chair of the Committee, for the period ending 31 December 2015, is His Excellency Mr. Gerard van Bohemen (New Zealand). The two Vice-Chairs for 2015 are Chile and the Russian Federation. The Committee is supported by the Analytical Support and Sanctions Monitoring Team whose reports can be found here. The Team can be contacted by email at:

The Security Council has made provisions for certain limited exemptions to the assets freeze and travel ban measures set out in paragraph 1 of resolution 2160 (2014), described above:

As indicated in paragraph 12 of resolution 2160 (2014), the provisions for exemptions to the assets freeze are set out in paragraphs 1 and 2 of resolution 1452 (2002), as amended by resolution 1735 (2006).

Provisions for exemptions to the travel ban are described in paragraphs 1(b), 12,13 and 14 of resolution 2160 (2014).