Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1970 (2011) concerning Libya

The Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1970 (2011) concerning Libya was established on 26 February 2011 to oversee the relevant sanctions measures and to undertake the tasks set out by the Security Council in paragraph 24 of the same resolution. The mandate of the Committee was subsequently expanded by resolutions 1973 (2011) and 2146 (2014) to also apply to the measures decided in those resolutions.

The sanctions measures currently in effect include:

Exemptions to the measures are described in the relevant resolutions. In monitoring the implementation of these measures, the Committee is assisted by a Panel of Experts.

On 16 September 2011, the Council adopted resolution 2009 (2011) by which it eased, or lifted, some of the measures.

On 7 March, 25 July 2012, and 9 October 2012, the Committee issued implementation assistance notices concerning, respectively, the asset freeze and arms embargo measures. On 11 September 2014, the Committee further updated implementation assistance notice #2.

On 23 March 2012, the Committee submitted to the Security Council a report pursuant to paragraph 5 of resolution 2017 (2011), concerning the proliferation of arms and related materiel of all types from Libya in the region.

On 14 March 2013, the Council adopted resolution 2095 (2013), by which it further eased the arms embargo.

On 14 March 2014, the Council adopted resolution 2144 (2014), by which it stressed compliance with the modalities of arms supplies, including ensuring that transfers reached and remained with the designated end-user, and encouraged bilateral consultations regarding claims for misappropriated funds.

On 19 March 2014, the Council adopted resolution 2146 (2014), by which it decided to impose measures, for a period of one year, on vessels designated by the Committee, in relation to attempts to illicitly export crude oil from Libya. Those measures were subsequently extended by resolution 2208 (2015) until 31 March 2015.

On 27 August 2014, the Council adopted resolution 2174 (2014), by which it reinforced the arms embargo and expanded the criteria for designation of individuals or entities as subject to the travel ban and assets freeze.

The current Chair of the Committee, for the period ending 31 December 2015, is His Excellency Mr. Ramlan Ibrahim (Malaysia). The Vice-Chair for 2015 is Spain.