Security Council Committee pursuant to resolutions
1267 (1999) and 1989 (2011) concerning Al-Qaida
and associated individuals and entities

The sanctions regime was first established by resolution 1267 (1999) on 15 October 1999 and has been modified and strengthened by subsequent resolutions, including resolutions 1333 (2000), 1390 (2002), 1455 (2003), 1526 (2004), 1617 (2005), 1735 (2006), 1822 (2008), 1904 (2009), 1989 (2011), 2083 (2012) and resolution 2161 (2014) so that the sanctions measures now apply to designated individuals and entities associated with Al-Qaida, wherever located. The names of the targeted individuals and entities are placed on the Al-Qaida Sanctions List. Narrative summaries of reasons for listing of the individuals, groups, undertakings and entities included in the Consolidated List (where available) can be found at the following URL: /sc/committees/1267/narrative.shtml.

The above-mentioned resolutions have all been adopted under Chapter VII of the United Nations Charter and require all States to take the following measures in connection with any individual or entity associated with Al-Qaida, as designated by the Committee:

The current Chair of the Committee, for the period ending 31 December 2015, is His Excellency Mr. Gerard van Bohemen (New Zealand). The two Vice-Chairs for 2015 are Chile and the Russian Federation. This website contains general information on the work of the Committee as well as a press release section. The Committee has guidelines for the conduct of its work. You can also find fact sheets providing basic information on the listing and de-listing procedures as well as on the exemptions to the assets freeze and from the travel ban. The Committee publishes annual reports of its activities and the Chair of the Committee briefs the Security Council regularly. The Secretariat of the Committee can be contacted by email at: Committee is supported by the Analytical Support and Sanctions Monitoring Team whose reports can be found here. The Team can be contacted by email at:

By resolution 1904 (2009), the Security Council established the Office of the Ombudsperson to assist the Committee in considering de-listing requests. The Ombudsperson can be reached by e-mail at

The Committee is one of three subsidiary bodies established by the Security Council that deal with terrorism related issues. The other two committees are the Counter-Terrorism Committee (the “CTC”) and the 1540 Committee. The three Committees and their expert groups coordinate their work and cooperate closely and the Committee Chairs also brief the Security Council on the activities of the Committees in joint meetings, when possible. The distinct but complementary roles of the three Committees are described in a comparative table issued jointly and posted on their respective websites.

More information on United Nations counter-terrorism activities and other existing counter-terrorism resources can also be found in the UN Counter-Terrorism Online Handbook.

In addition, cooperation between the Committee and INTERPOL resulted in an important initiative to assist Member States in identifying the individuals and entities on the INTERPOL-United Nations Security Council Special Notices, which were launched in December 2005.