关于大会主席

萨姆·卡汉巴·库泰萨先生阁下

H.E. Mr. Sam Kutesa

  萨姆·卡汉巴·库泰萨于2014年6月11日当选联合国大会第六十九届会议主席。在当选之时,他担任着乌干达外交部长,这是他自2005年以来一直担任的职位。

  作为一名律师、议员和商人,库泰萨先生为这一职位带来国际事务方面的丰富经验。在他担任外交部长期间,乌干达主办了关键政府间机构的高级别会议,诸如2007年的英联邦政府首脑会议、2008年的伊斯兰合作组织(伊合组织)部长理事会会议和2010年的非洲联盟(非盟)国家元首首脑会议。乌干达在2009年和2010年也是联合国安全理事会两年任期的非常任理事国。

  在区域和分区域两级,库泰萨先生主持了诸如东非共同体、东部和南部非洲共同市场(东南非共同市场)和大湖区问题国际会议等组织的高级别会议。从2011年至2014年,他主持了大湖区问题国际会议区域部际委员会的工作,委员会负责处理的问题包括在刚果民主共和国东部巩固和平与稳定,促进自然资源开采和销售的透明度,以及打击性暴力和基于性别的暴力行为。

  库泰萨先生作为外长在政府间发展管理局(伊加特),在苏丹和南苏丹区域和平进程中,以及在索马里境内实现稳定方面,都发挥了关键作用。此外,在他任职期间,乌干达所属东非共同体在加强区域合作和经济一体化方面取得了重大进展,于2005年建立了关税联盟,2010年建立了共同市场,并在2013年签署议定书,为到2023年在该地区建立货币联盟奠定了基础,以提高商业和推动区域贸易。

  作为在议会中三十多年的一位民选议员,库泰萨先生是乌干达制宪议会一名成员和该机构政治制度委员会的主席,其间他协助起草一部国家新宪法,宪法于1995年通过。从2001年到2005年,他担任财政、规划和经济发展部国务部长,负责投资事务,并从1996年至2000年出任规划和经济发展部国务部长。他在1985年至1986年是该国总检察长。
在私营部门,库泰萨先生曾担任世界性企业集团Lonrho东非的法律秘书,并以咨询人身份参与乌干达贸易咨询理事会和国家纺织品局的工作。他还在乌干达作为律师,专门从事公司法和诉讼事务。

  库泰萨先生于1949年2月1日出生在乌干达,在乌干达马凯雷雷大学获得法律荣誉学位,并是乌干达高级法院出庭律师。他已在乌干达法律发展中心完成了法律惯例的研究生学业。他已婚,育有六名子女。

About the President

H.E. Mr. Sam Kahamba Kutesa

H.E. Mr. Sam Kutesa

Sam Kahamba Kutesa was elected President of the United Nations General Assembly’s sixty-ninth session on 11 June 2014. At the time of his election, he was serving as Uganda’s Minister for Foreign Affairs, a post he held since 2005.

A lawyer, parliamentarian and businessman, Mr. Kutesa brings to the position wide-ranging experience in international affairs. During his tenure as Foreign Minister, Uganda has hosted high-level meetings of key intergovernmental bodies such as the Commonwealth Heads of Government Summit in 2007, the Council of Ministers of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) in 2008, and the African Union (AU) Heads of State Summit in 2010. Uganda also served its two-year term on the UN Security Council as a non-permanent member, in 2009 and 2010.

At the regional and subregional levels, Mr. Kutesa has hosted top-level gatherings of organizations such as the East African Community (EAC), the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR). From 2011 to 2014, he chaired the ICGLR’s Regional Inter-Ministerial Committee which deals with challenges such as consolidating peace and stability in eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), promoting transparency in the exploitation and sale of natural resources, and countering sexual and gender-based violence.

As Foreign Minister, Mr. Kutesa has played a key role in the Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), in regional peace processes in the Sudan and South Sudan, and in stabilization efforts in Somalia. Further, during his tenure, the East African Community, to which Uganda belongs, has achieved significant milestones in strengthening regional cooperation and economic integration, establishing a Customs Union in 2005 and a Common Market in 2010, and signing, in 2013, a protocol laying the groundwork for a monetary union in the region by 2023, to increase commerce and boost regional trade.

An elected Member of Parliament for more than three decades, Mr. Kutesa was a member of Uganda’s Constituent Assembly and Chairman of that body’s Political Systems Committee, during which time he contributed to drafting a new Constitution for the country, adopted in 1995. From 2001 through 2005, he served as Minister of State for Finance, Planning and Economic Development, in charge of investment, and from 1996 to 2000, as Minister of State for Planning and Economic Development. He was his country’s Attorney General from 1985 to 1986.

In the private sector, Mr. Kutesa worked as Legal Secretary for the worldwide conglomerate Lonrho East Africa, and served in a consultative capacity on the Uganda Advisory Board of Trade, and on the National Textiles Board. He also practiced law in his country, specializing in corporate law and litigation.

Born in Uganda on 1 February 1949, Mr. Kutesa holds an Honours Degree in Law from Makerere University and is an advocate of the High Court of Uganda, having completed post-graduate studies in legal practice at the Uganda Law Development Centre. He is married with six children.

Twitter Facebook Youtube Flickr