Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

PRESIDENT of the 64th Session
United Nations General Assembly

United Nations Logo


Thematic Debate - Disarmament and World Security: Challenges for the International Community and the Role of the United Nations
New York, 19 April 2010   


10h00 - Opening Session:


  • H.E. Ali Abdussalan Treki - President of the 64th session of the General Assembly of the United Nations
  • H.E. Ban Ki-moon - Secretary General of the United Nations
  • H.E. Alberto G. Romulo – Secretary of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of the Philippines
  • H.E  Vitaly I. Churkin – Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation to the United Nations
  • H.E. Susan E. Rice – Permanent Representative of the United States to the United Nations

10h50 - 13h00 - Session 1: Strengthening Multilateral Commitments regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction: the challenges and opportunities of disarmament, non-proliferation and peaceful uses of nuclear energy. *


  • Ambassador Rolf Ekéus – Chairman of the Governing Board of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
  • Ambassador Mohamed I Shaker – Chairman of the Egyptian Council of Foreign Affairs
  • Ms. Joan Rohlfing – President and Chief Operating Officer of the Nuclear Threat Initiative
  • Ambassador Abdul Samad Minty – Department of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of South Africa
  • Moderator: Ambassador Mona Juul (Norway) – Former Chair of the First Committee (Disarmament and International Security Committee)


15h00 - 17h30 - Session 2:  Enhancing security through the regulation of arms: security needs, military expenditures, the arms trade and arms availability. *


  • Ambassador Jayantha Dhanapala – President of the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs and Former United Nations Undersecretary General for Disarmament Affairs
  • Ambassador Camilo Reyes Rodrígues – Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Colombia and former Chair of the 2001 United Nations Conference on the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in all its Aspects
  • Dr. Keith Krause - Small Arms Survey Project and Professor at the Graduate Institute of Development and International Studies
  • Dr. Christiane Agboton-Johnson - Deputy Director, United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research
  • Moderator: Ambassador José Luis Cancela (Uruguay) – Chair of the First Committee (Disarmament and International Security Committee)

17h30 – 18h00 - Closing remarks

* All session will be followed by Q&A with Member States